Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I revised my recipe by using lemon cake mix and sprinkling sweetened coconut between the cake and icing layer. I also reduced sugar to 2 cups for the icing and it was wonderful!! Very easy to make and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is so good!! And very easy to make. Goes well with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
What a great recipe! My family loved it! I took some tips from other reviewers and only used 2 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar, but when I greased my baking dish I also dusted with sugar. I had to let my cake cook the whole 35 minutes, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
After reading all of the reviews stating that it's best to use only 2 cups of sugar, that's what I did. I wish I would have tried the recipe as it was originally posted (with 4 cups), as I didn't think the cake was sweet enough. Aside from that, I thought the cakey part was little dry, but overall it was a good recipe. I was a little disappointed since the majority of reviews were so good. I made this to take to Sunday School this morning, and it's not something I'm really proud to take. I may make it again, but only to make it the way it was originally posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made it with a lemon cake mix and 2 pkgs of cream cheese. Rich but not great. Much better the next day. Try other flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made this cake for the first time to bring to an office for breakfast. It was a total hit! This is easy to make and turns out great! I cut the powdered sugar to 2 cups and it was perfectly sweet. As someone else said, it goes great with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very yummo! I took the advice of others and only used 2 1/4 cup sugar. It was plenty sweet. I also added a little almond extract. It would probably be good with lemon extract too! Thanks for the great and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The bottom cake portion was really terrific, but the frosting came out a little too runny for my taste. My guests devoured it, though, and some even had seconds! Next time I'll add a little lemon to give it a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I followed "Kerri's" directions and it came out wonderful. (Worthy of it's own recipe with her changes.) I cut this into squares and took it to a UFC Fight Night gathering with a bunch of friends and they loved it - just the right amount of sweet and the coconut and nuts give it a nice boost! I pressed the "crust" into the pan by covering it in waxed paper. It was really easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I did cut back on the sugar per reviewers' comments, but still found it to be too sweet. Smelled wonderful while cooking, and was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States