Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was OK, but I wish I had taken it out of the oven a bit sooner than 35 minutes. The crust was pretty dry and I was expecting the top to be more dense and cheesecake like, but it was kind of like a stiff custard. I did use less powdered sugar (around 2.5 cups) and extra cream cheese, so I thought it would be like cheesecake but I've realized that there's no shortcuts for the real thing. Overall, this is alright to have in the fridge to satisfy a sweet tooth but not what I'd serve to anyone else. I gave it 4 stars instead of 3 because I changed the quantities, but I don't imagine it improving that much with more sugar and less cream cheese as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
i used a white cake mix, two packages of cream cheese, and two cups of powder sugar to make it not so sweet and it came out awesome. I will make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe has been passed down in my family...I only know for sure that it goes as far back as my grandmother. Anyway- in our recipe it calls for you to melt the butter before you add it to the mix. Also, I don't know if it's the same or not, but our recipe calls for 16 oz/1 lb. of confectioners sugar. Everytime I make this dish people always tell me how wonderful it is. It's one of my favorites and so simple to make! Oh, and my recipe also calls for it to be cooked for 45 mins. and I noticed this one says 35 mins. I don't know how much of a difference that makes...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made this cake for the recent Mayweather fight, so there were a ton of guys over. Every single one of them said how much they liked this cake. Very yummy. Let me tell you how I altered the recipe. Instead of four coups of sugar for the cream cheese I used 2 1/2 cups white surgar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar. Then I added a pinch of cinnamon for the season. Four cups of sugar makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Based on the other reviews I only used 3 c of powdered sugar for the cream cheese mixture and because I wanted to try this but also send some to my mother, I split the batch between two 8x8 square pans. It's very sweet and would probably be good with a strong cup of coffee. Overall it tastes nice but I'm just not a big fan of this, too rich for my blood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Fantastic! This cake is almost like a cheese danish. My husband raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
sooo easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was great- Although maybe on the "too sweet and too rich side" if that's even possible. Its definitely different, a recipe I'd try again. Made it as recipe states and it was really gooD-more like a bar recipe. P.S. Had the leftovers in a sealed container in the fridge for several days and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The first layer is VERY stiff. I had to pat it in with my fingers, dipping them in water. The rest was easy and the cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
The only addition I made was to add 1 tsp vanilla each to the cake layer and the topping layer. This cake is perfect as is. Makes a perfect potluck cake. My husband and kids told me I could make this whenever I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States