Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made no modifications to the recipe. It's delicious, but very sweet...but, we like that in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious! As sugested before, I also recommend halving the sugar (and I love sugar). I used 2 cups as opposed to 4, but with coconut spread between the layers, the powdered sugar could have been reduced even more. Using raspberry jam to create a marbled effect on top is simple and the tartness is a nice complement to the sweetness. It makes the cake bars more presentable as well. Overall, a moist, rich, and delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy & delicious- my husband & I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
for some reason, when it was supposed to be ready, the top seemed all bubbly, not quite done... I don't know if it's supposed to look this messy, tastes great, but it's way too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RenCohee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
As others have suggest, I cut back on the amount of p.sugar. Using only 2 cups. Still pretty rich, but much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made this to take to my office for coffee break and it was a big hit. Some of the guys ate three pieces. I did reduce the sugar to three cups. They have all asked me to bring it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Everyone at work and home loved this cake. Its moist and its the best when if first comes out of the oven. I will make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This cake is great...I use lemon flavored cake mix, a raspberry filling and make lemon cream cheese frosting. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartens815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made this cake for Mother's Day and my family LOVED it!! Although it is very sweet, it is simply delicious. I made it just like the original recipe, the only difference was I added red food coloring to the bottom cake portion. Made it look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
A very mediocre cake. It did not have any depth of flavor to it - all you tasted was the sweetness. My family loves sweets but we thought it was too much. My husband described it as being so sweet it hurt your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States