Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
First, if your a diabetic and want to commit suicide or a kid that loves sugary snacks make this dish. If you still wanting to make this use 1 cup of sugar. If this was created by Paula Dean she should be charged with a crime against humanity. I dumbed it down with bananas and milk. Next I learned to read the reviews before trying something new. Lastly never again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Nutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
pretty good for a mix. I added two bananas to the cake, and reduced powdered sugar to a cup. Sprinkled top with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Amazing! Melt in your mouth! OMG delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Roberson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Awesome! Followed the recipe as written with the exception of cutting down the powdered sugar to 3 cups rather than 4. It came out fantastic! Way better than I thought it would. Sprinkled some powdered sugar on top to make it look pretty. It really was a delicious cake and we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I half the powdered sugar and swirl fruit preserved in with the cream cheese portion. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I only read all the comments after putting the cake in the oven, then worried thinking would be too sweet. I don't find it so sweet, seems as though the cake part cuts the sweetness down. Only thing I did do was add chopped pecans between the cake and the cream cheese mixture. It doesn't seem to cut cleanly though, will crumble, but that too may be because it's still warm. It's an easy, quick recipe that will be handy when company is going to drop by and I want to cook something up fast for their coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
You dont really need so much sugar. My mother in law was raving about this NM cake some lady at her job brought in. She called and asked me to make one...I went to my go to place for recipes...and once again you guys didn't let me down. I have made it twice. The first time I thought it was too gooey but she said it was perfect. The second time I let the cake bake first until it was almost done and then added the frosting let it bake the remainder of the time and it was more like a cake to me. I also cut out some of the sugar in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I used the base of this recipe, but used two 8 ounce packages of cream cheese, the almond flavoring, pecans, and a slight dust of coconut as suggested by Kerri. Also, I reduced the powdered sugar to just two cups. The cake was a HIT! I think I'll try the lemon cake mix for a summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great Recipe! Easy. I took some of the other suggestions: added crushed pecans to the top and just used 3 cups of confectioners sugar. Even my picky husband ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this for the 1st time but changed up a little I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the 1st mixture and used butter cake mix, then sprinkled coconut and pecan pieces on top. Then mixed up the second mixture and poured it on and sprinkles coconut and pecan pieces on that. It was sooo Good!!!!! I took it to an office holiday party and it was a Hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States