Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Much, much too sweet for me - and I usually love sweets. May be better with the adjustments some people made with much less powdered sugar, but I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I used only two cups of powdered sugar for the topping. I also did the raspberry jam drizzle. So Good! Everyone asked about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I had high expectation for this cake and wanted to send it to my husband's office. I followed others advice to cut the cheesecake layer to 2 cups of sugar. There was not enough flavor besides butter. Plus the cheesecake did not mix consistently and came out clumpy. I did not send this cake ANYWHERE besides the trash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iknowjewels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I hope I did something wrong because this did not taste good. The cake was crumbly and the topping was sticky. I won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
this cake was waaaaaay too sweet! i cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, and used more cream cheese...but that was still too sweet, i should have gone w/my "cooking instincts"heheh and should have still used less sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I thought this cake was extremely too sweet.... I tried this for my sisters birthday and I couldnt stand but one bite..... It is designed for people that love sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was not what I was expecting. It is not really a cake. It's like a cookie crust with a cream cheese filling. I can't imagine what it would taste like with the full amount of sugar. I used half and it is still really sweet. Thanks for the recipe, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
WOW, everyone loved it, and I was asked to bring the leftovers from a dinner party to our Christmas cooking extravaganza the next day! I used only 3 cups of confectioners sugar and I added toffee coffee syrup to the cream cheese mixture. I'm going to play more with this recipe! Nuts, chocolate oh the fun I will have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
the cream cheese filling is incredibly sweet, so sweet infact that my family could not eat it, and all the sugar overpowered the cream cheese flavor. I have "tweaked"this recipe some and found that if you use 12 ounces of cream cheese, and one cup of confectioners sugar (and the eggs as previously instructed) and about 2 tbsp. milk to make it a little thinner it tastes more like cream cheese filling and less like pure sugar. on a related note, when you mix the cake/crust, if you pile the sticky mess together, and dust with powdered sugar it turns into a very soft dough that is easily handled, dont work the dough, just dust lightly and pat gently and it will become a nice dough ball, this makes it easier to push into the pan as opposed to trying to spread the gooey mess. I hope these tips help, other than that, this is an incredible dessert, and easily "tweeked" to your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarissa parkhurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
GREAT recipe--I've made a couple of batches in the last couple of weeks and the emptiness of my containers speak volumes! I opted to add chocolate chips to the cake layer and I did only use one box of confectioners sugar. I cut this into squares after it cooled and served it at a couple of gatherings...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States