Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I used only two cups of powdered sugar for the topping. I also did the raspberry jam drizzle. So Good! Everyone asked about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I had high expectation for this cake and wanted to send it to my husband's office. I followed others advice to cut the cheesecake layer to 2 cups of sugar. There was not enough flavor besides butter. Plus the cheesecake did not mix consistently and came out clumpy. I did not send this cake ANYWHERE besides the trash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iknowjewels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I hope I did something wrong because this did not taste good. The cake was crumbly and the topping was sticky. I won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
this cake was waaaaaay too sweet! i cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, and used more cream cheese...but that was still too sweet, i should have gone w/my "cooking instincts"heheh and should have still used less sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I thought this cake was extremely too sweet.... I tried this for my sisters birthday and I couldnt stand but one bite..... It is designed for people that love sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was not what I was expecting. It is not really a cake. It's like a cookie crust with a cream cheese filling. I can't imagine what it would taste like with the full amount of sugar. I used half and it is still really sweet. Thanks for the recipe, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
WOW, everyone loved it, and I was asked to bring the leftovers from a dinner party to our Christmas cooking extravaganza the next day! I used only 3 cups of confectioners sugar and I added toffee coffee syrup to the cream cheese mixture. I'm going to play more with this recipe! Nuts, chocolate oh the fun I will have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
the cream cheese filling is incredibly sweet, so sweet infact that my family could not eat it, and all the sugar overpowered the cream cheese flavor. I have "tweaked"this recipe some and found that if you use 12 ounces of cream cheese, and one cup of confectioners sugar (and the eggs as previously instructed) and about 2 tbsp. milk to make it a little thinner it tastes more like cream cheese filling and less like pure sugar. on a related note, when you mix the cake/crust, if you pile the sticky mess together, and dust with powdered sugar it turns into a very soft dough that is easily handled, dont work the dough, just dust lightly and pat gently and it will become a nice dough ball, this makes it easier to push into the pan as opposed to trying to spread the gooey mess. I hope these tips help, other than that, this is an incredible dessert, and easily "tweeked" to your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarissa parkhurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
GREAT recipe--I've made a couple of batches in the last couple of weeks and the emptiness of my containers speak volumes! I opted to add chocolate chips to the cake layer and I did only use one box of confectioners sugar. I cut this into squares after it cooled and served it at a couple of gatherings...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was very good! I used about 2 1/2 cups sugar since other reviews said it had been a bit too sweet. I don't think the cake was any worse because of this change! I think next time I will use 2 packages of cream cheese though for more of a cheese cakey taste and less sugary taste. May also layer coconut between the cake mix & the topping and then add some chocolate chips on the very top. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States