Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
A great "pantry" recipe and so easy, too All the ingredients you can keep on hand and make it when unexpected company is about to drop in for a visit. It's looks like a coffee cake but my-oh-my that first bite is a delicious surprise! Everyone raves about it and seem to think it's a very complex and difficult cake to make - quite the opposite, it's very easy to put together. The recipe goes by many names. My Mom gave me this recipe and I've made it for 25 years much to the delight of family and friends. Try this recipe, you will be glad you did! You'll please your guests as well as yourself! NOTE: Cream cheese might not be a staple for all of you, but it does keep for a good while, unopened, in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I just made this and had some problems. I cut back the power sugar to two cups and used the 8oz. cream cheese and two eggs. The cream cheese mixture is very liquid. I still tried to bake as instructed and the mixture in the middle is still liquid. So next time i will try with one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim
Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made no modifications to the recipe. It's delicious, but very sweet...but, we like that in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious! As sugested before, I also recommend halving the sugar (and I love sugar). I used 2 cups as opposed to 4, but with coconut spread between the layers, the powdered sugar could have been reduced even more. Using raspberry jam to create a marbled effect on top is simple and the tartness is a nice complement to the sweetness. It makes the cake bars more presentable as well. Overall, a moist, rich, and delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy & delicious- my husband & I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
for some reason, when it was supposed to be ready, the top seemed all bubbly, not quite done... I don't know if it's supposed to look this messy, tastes great, but it's way too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RenCohee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
As others have suggest, I cut back on the amount of p.sugar. Using only 2 cups. Still pretty rich, but much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made this to take to my office for coffee break and it was a big hit. Some of the guys ate three pieces. I did reduce the sugar to three cups. They have all asked me to bring it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Everyone at work and home loved this cake. Its moist and its the best when if first comes out of the oven. I will make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This cake is great...I use lemon flavored cake mix, a raspberry filling and make lemon cream cheese frosting. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartens815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States