Neiman Marcus Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The bottom cake portion was really terrific, but the frosting came out a little too runny for my taste. My guests devoured it, though, and some even had seconds! Next time I'll add a little lemon to give it a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I followed "Kerri's" directions and it came out wonderful. (Worthy of it's own recipe with her changes.) I cut this into squares and took it to a UFC Fight Night gathering with a bunch of friends and they loved it - just the right amount of sweet and the coconut and nuts give it a nice boost! I pressed the "crust" into the pan by covering it in waxed paper. It was really easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I did cut back on the sugar per reviewers' comments, but still found it to be too sweet. Smelled wonderful while cooking, and was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
First of all, do not even think about icing this "cake". It is more of a bar, and sweet enough to stand on it's own. I used about 12 ounces of cream cheese and 2 cups of sifted powdered sugar and it was delicious. My husband really liked it. Great with black coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie may

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was OK, but I wish I had taken it out of the oven a bit sooner than 35 minutes. The crust was pretty dry and I was expecting the top to be more dense and cheesecake like, but it was kind of like a stiff custard. I did use less powdered sugar (around 2.5 cups) and extra cream cheese, so I thought it would be like cheesecake but I've realized that there's no shortcuts for the real thing. Overall, this is alright to have in the fridge to satisfy a sweet tooth but not what I'd serve to anyone else. I gave it 4 stars instead of 3 because I changed the quantities, but I don't imagine it improving that much with more sugar and less cream cheese as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
i used a white cake mix, two packages of cream cheese, and two cups of powder sugar to make it not so sweet and it came out awesome. I will make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe has been passed down in my family...I only know for sure that it goes as far back as my grandmother. Anyway- in our recipe it calls for you to melt the butter before you add it to the mix. Also, I don't know if it's the same or not, but our recipe calls for 16 oz/1 lb. of confectioners sugar. Everytime I make this dish people always tell me how wonderful it is. It's one of my favorites and so simple to make! Oh, and my recipe also calls for it to be cooked for 45 mins. and I noticed this one says 35 mins. I don't know how much of a difference that makes...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made this cake for the recent Mayweather fight, so there were a ton of guys over. Every single one of them said how much they liked this cake. Very yummy. Let me tell you how I altered the recipe. Instead of four coups of sugar for the cream cheese I used 2 1/2 cups white surgar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar. Then I added a pinch of cinnamon for the season. Four cups of sugar makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Based on the other reviews I only used 3 c of powdered sugar for the cream cheese mixture and because I wanted to try this but also send some to my mother, I split the batch between two 8x8 square pans. It's very sweet and would probably be good with a strong cup of coffee. Overall it tastes nice but I'm just not a big fan of this, too rich for my blood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Fantastic! This cake is almost like a cheese danish. My husband raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States