Neiman Marcus Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
We loved this recipe, try it with a butter pecan flavor cake mix and put some pecans on top. Tasted like a really rich pecan pie.(p.s. just made it again for my sister, accidentally cooked for 1 hour and 15 minutes, thought I burned it but was still really good. Guess you can't ruin this one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
VERY GOOD! I cooked a bit longer in an 8x8 caserole dish and used pecans instead of walnuts. Wonderful! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and everyone loved it. I wish I had made it and served it the same day. I think it would have been better. One friend warmed her piece and said it was wonderful. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Central City, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I had high hopes for this, but was disappointed. Maybe I should have done it in a smaller pan. It was like brownies with this white creamy frosting that never really stayed put. Next time I might try it with a 9x9 or 8x8 as suggested for a "taller" cake. I thought the flavor was fine, but nothing amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Colona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was good. I made it for the first time for my moms birthday and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
WOW this stuff was SWEET. Good, but SWEET. This is really a brownie, not a cake. A little goes a LONG way. Good None-The-Less but I do believe the title should have stated brownie. Everyone seems to like it (in very small amounts) so I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This is definately more like a brownies than a cake, but the real issue for me was that the topping didn't have enough cream cheese taste. Won't make it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I have just found this website. I was looking for something easy, fast and yummy. I read all the ratings and picked this cake. I was very unhappy. I should have stopped after I read the 4 cups of sugar. It is WAY TOO rich and sweet, there is just TOO MUCH sugar, even for my husband who normally eats everything. Sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I made this according to the recipe for Thanksgiving...what a hit! So rich, it goes a long way...in a good way! This is a keeper and a sharer!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I made this cake for my husband's birthday 4 months ago and he took it with him to work. His coworkers have said recently that they still think about this cake and that it's the best cake ever! My husband has requested it several times since his birthday. Very rich and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States