Negroni Cocktail II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I'm a fan of Campari so I go a little heavy on it in my summer favorite drink, the Negroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I prefer mine to be a tad sweeter (more sweet vermouth) given the bitterness of the campari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Acquired taste for the campari. I drink a perfect negroni: split the vermouth: 1/2 sweet, 1/2 dry. Enloy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is the standard recipe but I always instruct the bar on two points. First off, (I sometimes order it with Vodka in which case it is called a Negroski)I always ask for it in a collins glass instead of the old fashioned glass that is standard, and secondly, I ask to mix it with a generous splash of soda (hence the taller glass) and that cuts the alcohol considerably and makes it a primo morning or summer drink. Always twist with lemon--the standard recipe can go either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Must be an aquired taste. Everyone at my party hated it. Including myself. Way too strong of an alcoholic taste. Sorry and thanks anyway. At least now I know what a Negroni tastes like if anyone asks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I spent 7 years in Italy, specifically in Rome, for graduate study. My new Italian friends were anxious to get me to try one of their native drinks, but the unusual combination of ingredients put me off at first. I eventually tried it and have loved Negronis ever since! My friends and I usually add about 1.5 ounces of gin since the campari and sweet vermouth tend to cancel each other in terms of sharpness vs. sweetness. ONE WARNING: These drinks are 100% alcohol. Be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
it's a classic and this is my favorite cocktail. i however, skip the lemon zest and squeze a large wedge of orange (navel preferred) and sink the orange peel and all in to my glass. i also place ice in my glass first just to extend the pleasure of sipping something so intoxicating! i will also say, it is an acquired taste, like scotch or whiskey. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I add a similar drink on Princess Cruises called a Bombay Rose Martini. It was (is) fantastic! If you like Campari and you like martinis, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gibson Cocktail

See how to mix the best Gibson cocktail.

Afternoon Delight Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake some gin and juice.

Singapore Sling Cocktail

See how to make a refreshing gin cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States