Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This pie is excellent! I tested it out on friends for a brunch and gave a slice to my mother. EXCELLENT! I used peaches, bananas and substituted buttermilk for some of the cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Deeeelicious! I followed another reviewer's advice and added more spices: 1/8 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp nutmeg and doubled the cinnamon. I also added a crumble topping of 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, and cut in enough butter to make it moist and crumbly (I think up to a 1/4 cup). Sprinkle it on top and pop it in the oven. Baking time and temp stay the same. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
this pie has a great taste, but I think if you sliced the fruit instead of just in half it would make it a lot better. more fruit in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This was interesting....boiling the nectarines helped to get the skin off; but I then had a difficult time de-pitting them. I ended up cutting the nectarine into slices--seemed to make more sense. I liked the almond flavor, but I wish I would have added more spices--maybe nutmeg and more cinnamon on top as another reviewer mentioned. I couldn't get the middle of the pie to firm up and the consistency ended up more like cobbler. Not bad, but not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Oh, so yummy!!! Am keen to try other variations of fruit - imagine that peaches would work as well. Will definatley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I took advantage of the great summer fruits available now, and added some blueberries to the nectarines. My husband went nuts for this pie! On the second night we ate it, HE pulled it out of the refrigerator and served it!! For him to do that...that's some mighty good pie! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I was really impressed with this recipe! I had nectarines that were not very sweet and no one was eating them, and I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot. I made a butter crust recipe and followed the directions for the filling exactly (except I actually substituted pancake mix for the flour because I ran out). I thought this was a fantastic change from the usual fruit pie, and everyone who tried it agreed. It had a very unique flavor! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
The pie would be better if the nectarines were cut up into slices rather than halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
A beautiful summer-time dessert. Great in the middle of winter when a shipment plums arrives from South America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
The entire family voted this recipe five stars. Certainly one of the best fruit pies we have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States