Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Oh my goodness I loved this pie and it was so easy to make and the crust was delicious and I usually don't care for crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelliee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
It was delicious. The red pits of the nectarine bled off, and added a wonderful color to the pie. I added orange zest, a pinch of mace, nutmeg and ginger. It firmed up nicely after it cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Delicious! I followed suggestions and cut the nectarines in quarters and left the skin on (which gave the dish a nice color). Used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and fat-free half-and-half instead of cream. Served over ice cream and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Oh-So-Good! I added some NUTMEG, CINNAMON, and GINGER (powdered)....and increased the ALMOND EXTRACT to 1 1/2 tsp......just my personal family's taste preferences. YIKES! I'm making it again, tomorrow night! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This is so easy, and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
The flavor of this pie was pretty good, but the appearance (kind of grey) and texture (kind of gloppy) were not as appealing as I'd hoped. I adore nectarines so I was excited to try it, but I'd try a different recipe next time. (I sliced the nectarines as others recommended and otherwise followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
YUUUM! I cheated a little bit on this pie and used peaches as I had just brought home a bunch from work, and it turned out fabulous. I sliced the peaches flat and thin instead of halving them so that there would be more fruit in each bite, and put a lattice topped crust sprinkled with cinnamon on top. I used fat free half n half instead of cream, and ended up baking it for nearly an hour, but my oven is sometimes weird. I took it out and it looked great, smelled great, and tasted de-vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I went looking for some ideas for me to do some thing with my nectarines. I found this recipe and it decided to makie it. It was fantastic! After looking at the recipe and reading through the reviews, I came up with a few changes I wanted to try. Here are the changes I made. I made a one crust pie. I did not peel the nectarines. I cut the nectarines in slices and since I used what I picked off my tree, I filld up the pie pan using a circular pattern so the whipping cream could still flow through. Instead of a pie crust topping, I made a crumb topping with brown sugar, flour, cinnamon & brown sugar. Then I sprinkled the top with sliced almonds. I left everything else the same. I cooked the pie for only 30 min. and when it was time to cut it, it was a little on the runny side. It was difficult to serve. Maybe I should have cooked it longer. I am not sure. I made another one the next night for another get together, and baked it about 6 min. longer, but it was still a bit runny. Both times the pies were slightly warm while cutting. I am wondering if the reason why it is running is because I am adding too many necartines. It really didn't matter though, because I served it with Breyers French Vanilla ice cream and it was delicious. Both times it was a bit hit and nothing was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I really liked this pie! I was being really lazy, so I didn't make my own crust (used a frozen one) and didn't even peel the nectarines! I added an extra nectarine (mine were a little small) and used vanilla extract instead of almond. I dotted the top with a little bit of butter (about 1 Tbs total) for some added richness. It was fantastic! A really easy pie for a homemade pie taste without lots of work! And I ended up loving the color that the skins gave to the pie. Thanks Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This pie is excellent! I tested it out on friends for a brunch and gave a slice to my mother. EXCELLENT! I used peaches, bananas and substituted buttermilk for some of the cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States