Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I love nectarines so was so excited when I saw this recipe. I made a crumb topping for it and baked it about 55 minutes. It was still jiggly in the middle, but as it cooled came together (like the way cheesecake does). It was pretty good, a little too creamy for a fruit pie for me. I think next time I will make a top crust and perhaps using something instead of heavy cream? Needs a little tweaking but overall a great pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was absolutely delicious (I just finished my third slice of the night) and pretty darned easy... other than the fact that my nectarines were not all that ripe and didn't want to peel or come off the pit. I simply cut the skin off with a knife and sliced chunks off (instead of halves) and it was perfection. Baking time was good at 40 minutes. Looked good and tasted better. It is one of the only recipes I have found for good desserts that will actually cook right at high altitude too. =) I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Followed this recipe to a t except for substituting fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for heavy cream. Other reviewers said it worked out the same for them. My nectarines were not juicy at all (which is why I was trying to get rid of them). The flavor of the pie was very good but it was incredibly runny; to the point that it appeared more like a bread pudding. I cooked it for 35 minutes; I would have cooked it for a hour in hind-sight. It looked beautiful and completey done, but on the way to my aunt's house, whom I was bringing this dessert over for, I noticed alot of juice trying to spill out around the pie. If you make this pie I would touch the middle of the pie and see if it feels "liquidy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I've made this pie two times now. The first time I made it I took the skins off the nectarines. Second time I didn't bother to do that. We liked the pie better with the skins on and it was less work! It was a real hit. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Oh my goodness I loved this pie and it was so easy to make and the crust was delicious and I usually don't care for crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelliee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
It was delicious. The red pits of the nectarine bled off, and added a wonderful color to the pie. I added orange zest, a pinch of mace, nutmeg and ginger. It firmed up nicely after it cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Delicious! I followed suggestions and cut the nectarines in quarters and left the skin on (which gave the dish a nice color). Used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and fat-free half-and-half instead of cream. Served over ice cream and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Oh-So-Good! I added some NUTMEG, CINNAMON, and GINGER (powdered)....and increased the ALMOND EXTRACT to 1 1/2 tsp......just my personal family's taste preferences. YIKES! I'm making it again, tomorrow night! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This is so easy, and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
The flavor of this pie was pretty good, but the appearance (kind of grey) and texture (kind of gloppy) were not as appealing as I'd hoped. I adore nectarines so I was excited to try it, but I'd try a different recipe next time. (I sliced the nectarines as others recommended and otherwise followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States