Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by BlessedByFaith
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was my first foray into pie making, but I had just taken my 2.5 year old fruit picking and needed to find recipes for all the fruit! I made a couple of changes, based on the reviews I read. I sliced the nectarines instead of halving them and I left the skins on. The fruit I used was quite ripe, so the skins weren't too tough. However, the end product WAS a bit soft, so I might use less ripe nectarines next time to see if I can make it a bit more solid. I used twice as much cinnamon as the original recipe called for, and added another 1tsp of Nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of ground Ginger. I could really taste the nutmeg in the finished pie. I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla and it was delish. I also made the brown sugar crumble (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, about a 1/4 cup of butter cut in to make it moist), and I am REALLY glad I did! I LOVED how it gave a little crunch to an otherwise soft pie. I cooked it for 45 minutes and let it cool completely before digging in. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the adjustments I made to it. Had the recipe been stellar with the exact way it was shown originally, I would have given it 5 stars, but I really think it needed the boost from the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlessedByFaith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I used about 3/4 condensed milk and 1/4 low fat milk instead of heavy whipping cream; I also added some chopped rhubarb and 1/2c sugar. Then I baked it for an hour. It is cooling now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I love making this pie because it's quite easy, but out of the ordinary enough to get rave reviews and tons of praise. I still haven't served to anyone who didn't rate it highly. I usually add a little more cinnamon and sometimes other sweet spices if I have them at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila-Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
tastes great. i also used the crumb topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is delicious! I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and doubled the cinnamon, added the 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg. I also made a crumble crust with 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, and 1/4 butter. i topped the pie off with some whipped cream made of heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar. it was one of the best pies i've ever had! my roommate licked her plate she liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
We'd bought too many nectarines from Costco and needed to use the remainder up quick, so I gave this recipe a try. I tweaked it a bit - didn't boil the fruit, i just sliced/chunked it with the skin on. I added 1.5 teaspoons of extract, and I upped the spices, too - more cinnamon, as well as nutmeg and ginger. I did a simple crumb crust of chopped butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup flour. Cooked it for 40 minutes and cooled it completely. It was excellent! Really terrific! My 8 year old said it looked funny, but he changed his tune once he tasted it. I highly recommend this recipe. This recipe would work well with peaches or plums. Next time I'm going to throw in some blueberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEMOANGELS
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I placed 5 large nectarines in a pot and filled it with water to ensure the water would cover them when it came time to loosen the skins. It was a lot easier to halve the fruit with the skins on than with out but it was alright since going into this I knew I was going to chop up my fruit instead of leaving it in halves. I used half and half instead of cream and the pie still looked and tasted beautifully. The small amount of almond flavor could really be tasted throughout so if your not much of a fan substitute it for vanilla. Also I think I baked it for about 45 minutes, after the center started to bubble. I had no problems with my pie being runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I love nectarines so was so excited when I saw this recipe. I made a crumb topping for it and baked it about 55 minutes. It was still jiggly in the middle, but as it cooled came together (like the way cheesecake does). It was pretty good, a little too creamy for a fruit pie for me. I think next time I will make a top crust and perhaps using something instead of heavy cream? Needs a little tweaking but overall a great pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was absolutely delicious (I just finished my third slice of the night) and pretty darned easy... other than the fact that my nectarines were not all that ripe and didn't want to peel or come off the pit. I simply cut the skin off with a knife and sliced chunks off (instead of halves) and it was perfection. Baking time was good at 40 minutes. Looked good and tasted better. It is one of the only recipes I have found for good desserts that will actually cook right at high altitude too. =) I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Followed this recipe to a t except for substituting fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for heavy cream. Other reviewers said it worked out the same for them. My nectarines were not juicy at all (which is why I was trying to get rid of them). The flavor of the pie was very good but it was incredibly runny; to the point that it appeared more like a bread pudding. I cooked it for 35 minutes; I would have cooked it for a hour in hind-sight. It looked beautiful and completey done, but on the way to my aunt's house, whom I was bringing this dessert over for, I noticed alot of juice trying to spill out around the pie. If you make this pie I would touch the middle of the pie and see if it feels "liquidy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States