Nectarine Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
A hit! This is the my all-time favorite pie! Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This a delicious pie! It was very easy to put together. This particular recipe does not need any changes at all! I made it like my mother used to make her apple tart. I sliced nectarines for a bottom layer, then put nectarines cut in half, cut side down over the sliced nectarines. I put the cream mixture over the top. The pie does not need a topping or crust or added spices. I have made 5 pies this weekend alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This pie was exceptional.I live in California and we grow our own nectarines. Having an over abundance of nectarines all at one time can be a problem.This pie recipe fit the bill. I did add a top crust of graham cracker crumbs and brown sugar ,this sealed the deal for a five star review. fru
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRISTY916
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was interesting. I didn't much care for the "undercooked cake" texture of the cream filling. I should have let it bake longer than 35-40 min. Otherwise, it was quite good. I skipped the boiling and peeling process entirely because nectarine skins are edible. Also, I quartered them as they were a little firm, and wanted them to cook more evenly than halves would cook. Finally, I added frozen black raspberries to the mix, and it was very pretty. Photo uploaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'm only giving this recipe four stars because I had to make a few changes. I read previous reviews and saw that many had problems with the filling being runny. I also substituted melted vanilla ice cream for whipping cream because I had none. First, I didn't peel the nectarines, I just pulled them apart as mine were very ripe and soft. I saved all of juice that came off of them and added a good amount of corn starch to that. I mixed the juice with the flour-sugar mixture and ice cream. My pie barely cooked in the 35 minutes, but was perfectly brown so I covered it in tin foil and left it in the oven for another 15-20 minutes. It was still a little runny and not very pretty. I'll take even more percautions against runniness next time I make this pie, but I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mellette, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is not my first attempt at nectarine pie... I created my own version years ago and never thought to look for an alternative. But when I saw this, I had to try it! Sounded so yummy and had great reviews - but for some reason mine was much too gooey even after I baked it for 1 hour. I anticipated it being a little too wet and initially added an extra 2 Tbsp flour, not really enough to counteract all that cream though! (And my nectarines were not even that juicy) Next time I will just try to reduce the amount of cream by 1/2. hopefully that will help. The taste is good, but in the future, I will add add additional cinnamon, nutmeg and increase the almond extract slightly. With some tweaks it will probably get a second chance in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BlessedByFaith
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was my first foray into pie making, but I had just taken my 2.5 year old fruit picking and needed to find recipes for all the fruit! I made a couple of changes, based on the reviews I read. I sliced the nectarines instead of halving them and I left the skins on. The fruit I used was quite ripe, so the skins weren't too tough. However, the end product WAS a bit soft, so I might use less ripe nectarines next time to see if I can make it a bit more solid. I used twice as much cinnamon as the original recipe called for, and added another 1tsp of Nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of ground Ginger. I could really taste the nutmeg in the finished pie. I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla and it was delish. I also made the brown sugar crumble (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, about a 1/4 cup of butter cut in to make it moist), and I am REALLY glad I did! I LOVED how it gave a little crunch to an otherwise soft pie. I cooked it for 45 minutes and let it cool completely before digging in. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the adjustments I made to it. Had the recipe been stellar with the exact way it was shown originally, I would have given it 5 stars, but I really think it needed the boost from the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlessedByFaith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I used about 3/4 condensed milk and 1/4 low fat milk instead of heavy whipping cream; I also added some chopped rhubarb and 1/2c sugar. Then I baked it for an hour. It is cooling now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I love making this pie because it's quite easy, but out of the ordinary enough to get rave reviews and tons of praise. I still haven't served to anyone who didn't rate it highly. I usually add a little more cinnamon and sometimes other sweet spices if I have them at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila-Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
tastes great. i also used the crumb topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States