Nectarine Blush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was better than I thought it was going to be! Nice change from your typical blended drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was great! It was a bit too sweet for me though so next time, I'll cut down the sugar a little. However, I didn't have buttermilk so I used some milk + vinegar and maybe that makes a difference in the amount of sugar needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was really surprised by how tasty this was! I'd make it again except I peeled my nectarines and I'm no good at peeling or even chopping nectarines, so this drink took longer to prepare than I'd have liked. I also used homemade buttermilk (milk + vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this twice. The first time was good. The second time I put a couple of handfuls of ice in as the mixture was blending and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was AWESOME! I wasn't sure about is because I don't like buttermilk, but it was really very good. I added ice and strawberries after trying to original and both where great! I really recomend this for a quick healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVBrown07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Hubs walked into the kitchen as I was making this - uh-oh! The buttermilk carton was on the counter, so I quickly hid it under the sink before he could see it. I knew if he knew there was buttermilk in it, this smoothie would be doomed. I watched as he quickly drank the first glassful and I asked him to comment while I poured him a refill (this was about 30 seconds later). He said it was "peachy," (of course he MEANT "nectarine-y"), and that there was "something odd about it - but in a good way." Only after he finished the last of this 2-serving recipe did I reveal there was buttermilk in the drink, to which he quickly scrunched up his nose. And then he rated it four stars. I never saw him drink a smoothie that fast. I made this exactly as the submitter directed and threw a few ice cubes into the blender as well. Hubs said he appreciated that this wasn't so cold that it gave him an ice cream headache. Maybe that's why it went down in a New York Minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
We loved this! I used fresh peaches that I peeled first. Super simple to make with few ingredients and great results~a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I do like buttermilk in a smoothie, but it was too dominant here, and though I used sweet ripe nectarines, their flavor did not come through as I was expecting. Because the recipe doesn't use frozen fruit or ice, it was warm, which was not appealing. I added a frozen banana after the fact which helped make it slightly icy and more refreshing. Ice cubes would dilute the flavor even more. I might make this again if I have buttermilk to use up, but I would chop up the nectarines ahead of time and toss them in the freezer overnight, cut the buttermilk in half and make up the difference with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
love buttermilk and this is great - no sugar needed. Does need to be well chilled. Other fruit can be used, but prefer nectarines. Thanks.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I would give it five stars, but I didn't think that was fair considering that I changed the recipe some. I took CC's advice and chopped the nectarine up, froze it and then used half OJ and half buttermilk. The buttermilk would have been overpowering if I had used the full cup. (and I love buttermilk!) So the recipe, as is, would be good, but not something I make again. With those changes, it is now my all-time favorite smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States