Neat Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was very nummy and this is now a regular in my repertoire. I halved the recipe (because there were only two of us and I had only 1 pound of ground beef). I also had no tomato soup, so used 8 ounces of spaghetti sauce (simply because it was on hand). The rest of the recipe was followed to a "T" (except that I left out the salt). Wonderful, quick, and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is one of my regular recipes. It tastes great, is easy to make and is healthy. The only modifications I make are: 1 tablespoon or so of brown sugar (as opposed to 1/4 cup) A few teaspoons of hot sauce Omit the salt (I can never understand the need to add salt to a recipe where the ingredients already contain sodium)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
super tasty! Best sloppy Joe I have ever tasted. My 4 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
amazing!!!! a staple in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Made this tonight for dinner and it was delicious! Did not have tomato soup so I used tomato sauce instead. Used celery salt instead of the celery (not my favorite). Did add some chopped jalapenos to give some heat. Added a little mustard to the mix. Served with Neely's cole slaw (Food Network) and tater tots, suggested from another viewer. This was really good for sloppy joes. Not that bbq sauce flavor like a lot of other recipes. Add the mustard, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tennismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
So simple and very easy ingredients that I always have on hand. Very good, not very spicy. A hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was only preparing this meal for two people so I had to scale this back a bit. I used 1 pound of lean ground beef, 1/2 cup chopped red onion, enough chopped celery for a 1/4 cup, and 2 garlic cloves, chopped. I actually tried to dice up the celery really well so it wouldn't be as evident to others when eating. Once the ground beef was browned and broken down I added 1 can of Campbell's Tomato soup, then mixed in 2T heinz ketchup, 2 tsp white vinegar, 1T brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp whorcestershire sauce, about a 1/4 tsp salt, to taste, fresh ground black pepper, a dash of hickory liquid smoke, and 1T of bottle BBQ sauce. I let it simmer for 15 minutes before serving on toasted hamburger buns. This was very good! The flavors all worked well with each other making for a tasty meal and nothing was overpowering each other. I could taste a hint of sweetness but also the subtle "tang" from the vinegar. I really like the little crunch from the celery but am glad that I did not add the full 1 cup chopped celery called for in this recipe. This recipe did not call for green bell peppers for a change, which was nice, and did use 1 can of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. This 1 pound meat portion also made enough for 6 hamburgers so I actually had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Everybody in the house LOVED this! Definetly saving for the recipe book!! Love this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was very very good and definitely a keeper. I cut back on the brown sugar and added some hot sauce at the end. My husband HATES celery IF he knows it's in there, LOL. So I sprinkled in a little celery salt instead of chopped celery. For those who are leaving out onions for the kids or other picky eaters, try grating the onion instead of chopping it. Or use onion powder instead. Next time I'll start this a little earlier so it can simmer in the sauce longer. Super duper good. WAY better than anything in a can :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Delicious! After my 8yr old whined that he didn't like sloppy joes, him and his 6yr old brother ate them right up! Only changes I made were onion powder instead of onion, no celery and maybe 1 tsp of mustard. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States