Neat Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I added cajun spices, fresh ground black pepper and fresh garlic and reduced the amount of brown sugar to suite my family's tastes. It's a very good, thick sloppy joes recipe that is better than the canned stuff. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I have made these for my daughter's baby shower, my grandson's birthday party, Christmas parties..I make them all the time! They are easy to make and very tasty! Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I fixed the recipe exactly except I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I can see where some reviewers mentioned the bland factor, but in my opinion, it isn't so bland itself, but it is bland when compared to a Manwich or the packet mixes. Those are either twangy or some other spice. This recipe tastes made from scratch which i think is pleasing. Just a hint of tomato and hint of sweetness, not too much of anything. Anyone can tweak it to their liking, but I think it's really good as it is if you aren't looking for a lot of spice or zip. But it's still a messy sloppy joe in my opinion, and that's nothing a napkin can't handle. I'll definitely make this again and not buy the mixes or cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Love this recipe, i did not have celery so i added green pepper. Try it without the sugar first then add in half if you want it sweet, the first time i made it i could not handle the sweetness, the second time i made it i left the sugar out totally and it was perfect. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I've made this over and over again exactly as written. My husband and young children love it. I chop celery and keep it in the freezer ready for adding to recipes like this. I always have the ingredients on hand. I like to make a double batch and spoon leftovers into muffin cups and freeze. They pop right out and store in a ziplock bag in perfect portion sizes for a sandwich. I avoid processed foods but still strive to have " quick" microwave options ready for when we are in a hurry to eat. I do the same muffin cup approach with taco meat and shredded BBQ chicken too! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Delicious! Didn't have some of the ingredients, so used half an onion and some Mrs Dash's tomato, garlic and basil seasoning. Came out great, partner said it was the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great Soppy Joe and easy to make. Didn't use the brown sugar and did add minced garlic. Replaced ketchup with barbecue sauce. Everyone loved them. Can't wait to make them for the grand kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Easy to make, but bland. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Simply amazing! My dad, very picky, ate two sandwiches and so did I. Only changes I did is is I removed the sugar and instead added some shredded carrots. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. It is a staple in our menu now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States