Neat Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I did make a few changes though. I used 1lb. ground beef & 1lb. ground pork and browned it with 1/2 cup minced onion & 3 cloves of chopped garlic. I omitted the celery b/c we are not big fans of celery & I have never heard of sloppy joes with celery. Instead of condensed tomato soup (which I prefer not to eat) I used 1 1/4 cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of barbecue sauce, along with the salt, garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce, vinegar & brown sugar. I have tried many homemade versions of sloppy joes and we all agreed this is our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made as directed minus Brown sugar. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was good! I made it exactly as the recipe said. I toasted some rolls under the broiler in the oven to put the sloppy joes on. served with a side of potato salad and dinner was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I stumbled on this recipe by accident on allrecipes.com and thought why not. This turned out great. Made per the recipe and everyone loved it, even the kids. I did make with ground turkey because that is what I had and did add a drop or two of liquid smoke. Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I think this is really good as is, and can easily be spiced up as needed next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I found these nothing to rave about, but perfectly acceptable for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Wonderful! We prefer green peppers so I subbed green peppers for celery ( the food processor can purée veggies & my picky oldest never notices;) kept everything else the same. Was in a hurry on a week night so didn't measure exactly but did keep in using the rest of the ingredients listed... just eyeballed amounts. Turned out great. Have made it several times & recommended to family..they also really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My family loved it. We do not like Manwich. I used turkey meat instead of ground beef. You could not taste the difference. I also used frozen chopped peppers and onions to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Really loved how thick it turned out. Also, I only had 1 1/3 lbs. ground beef, so I cooked 1/2 cup lentils and about 1/4 cup masoor dal (red shelled lentils) and threw them in too. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I left out the celery, onion and brown sugar and these were excellent! My kids loved them:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States