Neat Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
So simple and very easy ingredients that I always have on hand. Very good, not very spicy. A hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was only preparing this meal for two people so I had to scale this back a bit. I used 1 pound of lean ground beef, 1/2 cup chopped red onion, enough chopped celery for a 1/4 cup, and 2 garlic cloves, chopped. I actually tried to dice up the celery really well so it wouldn't be as evident to others when eating. Once the ground beef was browned and broken down I added 1 can of Campbell's Tomato soup, then mixed in 2T heinz ketchup, 2 tsp white vinegar, 1T brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp whorcestershire sauce, about a 1/4 tsp salt, to taste, fresh ground black pepper, a dash of hickory liquid smoke, and 1T of bottle BBQ sauce. I let it simmer for 15 minutes before serving on toasted hamburger buns. This was very good! The flavors all worked well with each other making for a tasty meal and nothing was overpowering each other. I could taste a hint of sweetness but also the subtle "tang" from the vinegar. I really like the little crunch from the celery but am glad that I did not add the full 1 cup chopped celery called for in this recipe. This recipe did not call for green bell peppers for a change, which was nice, and did use 1 can of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. This 1 pound meat portion also made enough for 6 hamburgers so I actually had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Everybody in the house LOVED this! Definetly saving for the recipe book!! Love this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was very very good and definitely a keeper. I cut back on the brown sugar and added some hot sauce at the end. My husband HATES celery IF he knows it's in there, LOL. So I sprinkled in a little celery salt instead of chopped celery. For those who are leaving out onions for the kids or other picky eaters, try grating the onion instead of chopping it. Or use onion powder instead. Next time I'll start this a little earlier so it can simmer in the sauce longer. Super duper good. WAY better than anything in a can :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Delicious! After my 8yr old whined that he didn't like sloppy joes, him and his 6yr old brother ate them right up! Only changes I made were onion powder instead of onion, no celery and maybe 1 tsp of mustard. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
A keeper!! No more canned stuff for us. All 3 kids and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
With the exception of adding a splash of liquid smoke, I followed the recipe exactly. It was great! My husband hates the canned stuff- he refuses to eat it- but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Excellent! I DIDN'T change anything. All 3 of my young children ate the whole sandwich with no complaints at all! I chopped the celery and onion very small for the kids. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Excellent!! Kids couldn't get enough. Followed recipe exactly. No need to make changes. Perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was not only very easy to make it was also delicious. My children don't care for sloppy joes but they really loved these and besides I had everything on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States