Neat Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My family and I loved this recipe, it was really easy for me to make and it tasted amazing. It was very delicious. They aren't too neat, I still got some on my hands, but that is the fun of SLOPPY joes! Great recipe and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
A good recipe for a cold Midwest winter night. To increase the flavor, I added a teaspoon of ground mustard, a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a teaspoon of chili powder. I substituted two teaspoons of molasses for the 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I didn't have much ketchup on hand, so I used a 14 oz can of tomato sauce and a small 4 oz can of tomato paste. I also added one diced red bell pepper. For health benefits, I substituted ground turkey for ground beef and fresh minced garlic for garlic powder. I cooked everything in my 12 inch USA made Lodge cast iron skillet. For a great and easy side dish, I used the Baked French Fries I from this website which I baked in my 10 inch Lodge cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have only modified it slightly, i changed the soup for tomato paste cut out the extra salt and used thick lea and perrins. We love the brown sugar. This is the original style sloppy joes, from way back in the day. piece of cake to make. I put my onions ad celery in the food processesor because no likes the chunks but my hubby and me. i just throw all the add in into the crock pot then cook the meat and throw it in and mix it up and let it sit to marinate and when they all show /brings my grown boys back home, we are ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These are wonderful. I will never buy the canned mix again! I did change up the amounts of the ingredients for personal tastes but I kept all of them in there. This also freezes well, which is a plus wince it makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
No complaints on this one. The adults and children enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Used tomato sauce instead of tomatoe soup. Wife says best "Sloppy Joes she has ever had".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garryk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My kids loved it! I did use less brown sugar, but it was very very tasty. I have a picky 7 year old and he wasn't fond of the green stuff, but once he tried it he didn't care! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Rishel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is so good! Kids and adults alike love it. I used apple cider vinegar and cut the sugar in half (diabetic people were eating this). I buttered the buns and toasted them in the oven. After spooning meat mixture on buns I topped with pepper jack cheese and a tiny bit finely shredded cabbage. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Only changes I made was to skip the brown sugar and added a couple squirts of bbq sauce. I also put the veggies through the food processor. Easy to make excellent flavor. Tastes like the sloppy joes my grandma used to whip together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I did a lower-fat version by using turkey in place of beef;not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States