Neapolitan Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made these with all-purpose gluten-free flour and 1/2 the sugar. The results were very good but pretty fragile--I had to let them cool completely on the baking sheet and then they were easier to handle. Next time I will use 1/2 the salt if I leave out that much sugar. Also I will add 1 t. xanthan gum to help it hold together. To spread the dough in the pan, I wet my hands and formed it into a flattened oblong shape, then laid in in the pan and pressed it to the edges. Like others, I used cocoa. For the white layer I just added 2 T ground almonds. For the pink layer I used 1 T strawberry jam & 2 drops red food coloring. Very good & fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the best made it for valentine's day very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I have made this every year since it first appeared in Southern Living back in the 80's or 90's! It's easy, festive, delicious - and has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
They came out too sweet for me. Tried not to overmix, didn't expect that chewy a texture for this type of a cookie. Maybe something else I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
did not love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Just made these...Put coconut in the white instead of nuts, and no almond extract in pink...They're so tasty! If I do say so myself :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
For those of you who like to bake using a scale, each of the three different layers weighs approx. 301 g. Instead of using different flavors, I chose to make them with three colors that matched the party's color theme. Very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Made these today and wow they were easy. They turned out ready well. I added double the red coloring just because, and I used minced almonds instead. Husband really enjoyed them and now waiting for the real test tomorrow when the grand kids come for a visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
They were ok. They came out looking perfect but taste wise they were ok. I didn't find them amazing in taste. For looks they would get a 5. For taste, to me like an average butter/sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yuuuuuum! I've had my eye on these for awhile but never wanted to wait 4 hours for them to freeze when I found myself in the cookie-making mood. I finally just did it, with a few changes I read from other reviews. I mixed red food coloring and several tablespoons of maraschino cherry juice for the pink section. (I had to thicken it a little with a bit more flour.) For the white section all I had on hand was coconut extract, so I added a teaspoon or so. A GREAT combo with the chocolate and cherry flavors! For the chocolate section I just added about 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Then, in my impatience, I took them out of the freezer after 1 1/2 hours and they cut PERFECTLY! I cut the block of dough into thirds and they made perfect size cookies. My only issue with these cookies is that we can't stop eating them! A fun addition to our usual cookie recipies! So glad I finally tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States