Neapolitan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made cupcakes using this receipe for my son's class. The kids thought they were very tasty and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was definitely a conversation piece. Such a creative idea and recipe. I made it for a friend for her birthday and we marveled how pretty it looked swirled just like the ice cream. Being that it was a birthday cake, I iced it with a fluffy white frosting. A nice moist flavorful cake. I'm filing this recipe away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I've been making this for bake sales for years, and I am always asked to make 2. I add vanilla extract to the white part, and strawberry syrup to the strawberry part. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Weaver Tenisci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is very good, I have made it several times, and each time everyone loves it. It is perfect with or without a dusting of powdered sugar. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This cake is more about presentation than taste. Definitely 5 stars for presentation, as it is a very pretty cake, with its thick white, pink and brown swirls! However, this only rates 3 stars for flavor, which was rather flat. I wanted a richer cake, so I prepared the cake mix (French vanilla) with 4 eggs, 1 c. sour cream, 2/3 c. oil and 2 tsp. vanilla and NO water, a fairly standard cake mix enhancement. Each of the individual batters suffered in flavor, which with some tweaking could be remedied. I added 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract, but in the future would double that, as well as doubling the amount of cocoa in the chocolate batter. Still, a very moist and acceptable cake, made better with "Shiny Chocolate Glaze," also from this site. This cake is so darn pretty it's well worth the effort to make some adjustments to improve the intensity of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Super presentation. Easy to make for the novice baker. Flavors not overly distinct. But this is so worth making because of the eyecatching allure. Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My daughter loves Neapolitan ice cream so for her birthday I surprised her with this cake. She loved it!!! Read the reviews and made the changes that were given of: 4 eggs, 1 c sour cream, 2 tea vanilla and no water to cake mix. I also subbed applesauce for the oil. My store didn't have strawberry extract so used strawberry syrup and 2/3 c chocolate syrup (maybe more). Came out perfect! Everyone said how moist it was and thought I had slaved over the cake to get that marbled effect! Thanks for posting love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've given this a 2 for presentation only. It was very bland. I might try the additions others suggested with 4 eggs, 1c sour cream, 2 tea vanilla, 1 tsp strawberry extract. I agree the cake as written is more about presentation. I also made the Shiny Chocolate Glaze to put on it as recommended by someone else and that glaze ruined the cake, it was so bitter, you couldn't eat it and I ended up taking it home from the party with people leaving it on their plates because of the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
boring, won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States