Navy Beans and Greens with Bacon and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Fantastic soup!! I didn't have canned navy beans so I used prepared dry beans. I doubled the recipe and so glad that I did so I would have a some to freeze! Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. The lemon made this soup! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Have made this recipe several times and REALLY enjoy it! Not a big fan of un-crisp bacon, so I cook the bacon first to a crispy state, remove it and sweat the onions in the bacon fat. Do everything else as the recipe is written. That way, the bacon taste stays for the simmering, then I sprinkle the crisp bacon on the end result. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delicious! What a great combo of flavors. This paired nicely with chicken. I used Northern beans, since I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Used fresh kale instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I just tried this recipe and I don't understand what I did wrong. It is very good but I didn't have any liquid except from the can of beans. I kept looking at the ingredients to see if I missed anything. One lady said she thickened it by using flour and water. I didn't have any liquid. Did I miss something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I didn't have navy beans. Used cannaleni [white kidney beans] beans instead. I also added some grated onion & red pepper flakes. Personal choice. I like food with a bite. Delicious & sooo healthy too. Next time I might add a little shredded carrot for color. My grandma always liked to top her spinach dishes with chopped up hard boiled eggs so it would look more appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Now this is one tasty rockin delicious dish! Yummy! Spinach, Bacon, Garlic, Navy Beans and Lemon. Great cast of recipe ingredients. Thanks for posting Scottley!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Definitely a keeper in our house. I didn't use an entire head of garlic but it was still good. It did need salt and pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
VERY GOOD! I wasn't able to allow this to simmer for an hour, b/c I had to run out, but this was wonderful even w/o doing that. I only used 3 strips of bacon, and a bag of regular spinach that I tore up. This had great flavor, and, not that it needed it, but I think next time I may add a little crushed pepper flakes just for a little spice. I will def be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I didn't have "navy beans" so I used Garbanzo Beans and Red Kidney Beans. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States