Navy Beans and Greens with Bacon and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I really like this recipe, but disagree with the number of servings. I would say at most this would be 2 small servings or one large serving. I followed exactly, except used 3 slices of bacon instead of 5 because I was using thick cut bacon and I didn't have pinto beans, so I used Cannelini beans. It is a great comfort food with nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Very good. I tried with lemon and without. Both great. Love all the tasty and healthy ingredients. Very simple to make. 30-45 minutes simmering time was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was great! I let my onions get a little brown so they added a little caramel color to liquid, I also crisped my bacon, and added chicken broth because there wasn't enough liquid for me, AND I added some cubes of chicken tenderloin (seasoned and lightly browned) to satisfy hubby's "meat tooth".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Fantastic soup!! I didn't have canned navy beans so I used prepared dry beans. I doubled the recipe and so glad that I did so I would have a some to freeze! Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. The lemon made this soup! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Have made this recipe several times and REALLY enjoy it! Not a big fan of un-crisp bacon, so I cook the bacon first to a crispy state, remove it and sweat the onions in the bacon fat. Do everything else as the recipe is written. That way, the bacon taste stays for the simmering, then I sprinkle the crisp bacon on the end result. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delicious! What a great combo of flavors. This paired nicely with chicken. I used Northern beans, since I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Used fresh kale instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I just tried this recipe and I don't understand what I did wrong. It is very good but I didn't have any liquid except from the can of beans. I kept looking at the ingredients to see if I missed anything. One lady said she thickened it by using flour and water. I didn't have any liquid. Did I miss something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I didn't have navy beans. Used cannaleni [white kidney beans] beans instead. I also added some grated onion & red pepper flakes. Personal choice. I like food with a bite. Delicious & sooo healthy too. Next time I might add a little shredded carrot for color. My grandma always liked to top her spinach dishes with chopped up hard boiled eggs so it would look more appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Now this is one tasty rockin delicious dish! Yummy! Spinach, Bacon, Garlic, Navy Beans and Lemon. Great cast of recipe ingredients. Thanks for posting Scottley!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States