Navy Bean Soup with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made this recipe as is the first time and it was quite tasty without any changes. I think if you rate a recipe you need to follow the directions-at least the first time! I have made some changes since then. First I use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I also use two or three carrots and an additional clove of garlic (we like garlic). and an additional bay leaf since I use fresh bay leaves from a tree and they don't seem very strong. I also added about a half a cup of chopped celery leaves and a small diced potato. Rather than removing some liquid and putting it in the blender to thicken it, I use my potato masher and that does a fine job without having to wash the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Hobbs
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious, and better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Hobbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe! I've made it several times now. I've modified it to use 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water; added chopped celery and a can of creamed corn; then thickened it at the end by using mashed potato flakes instead pureed beans. Rich, creamy and rib-sticking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Just made this during the horrible Vikings vs. Bears Football Game; Substituted 4 cups unsalted chicken stock and 4 cups Low-sodium chicken broth for the 8 cups water as some of reviewers have suggested. Also added more carrots (about 4 medium-small ones). Smells up the whole house and tastes good, and will console my husband, per husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Rasmussen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this today. I've used it as a base for my own spin. If I do not have leftover stuffing I use stove-top Savory herb flavor. I follow the microwave directions and dump it in the finished soup. I do not blend some as the recipe instructs, I find the stuffing dissolves and adds a wonderful stick to your ribs thickness and flavor that is deliciously irresistible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naturally Doreen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Afton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a great penny pinching meal that's simple and delicious. I added a chopped up stalk of celery along with the onion. This is a great recipe to make ahead and reheat for those busy nights. This would be great without the ham for a meatless meal or you could even substitute a smoked turkey leg for non-pork eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Use chicken broth instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe! I did make a couple of changes to fit out tastes. First, I used 1/2 fat free, low sodium chicken broth and 1/2 chicken stock for the water. 2nd, I substitted two smoked turkey legs for the pork. You can find them in the frozen foods. I just put them in skin and all, when cooking the beans (they won't fall apart that way). When they're done and cool enough to handle, discard skin, bone and fat; putting the meat back into the soup. I used 2 carrots and 2 med potatoes chopped and upped the garlic to 3 cloves (we love garlic). If you like it spicy, you can add a couple of chopped, seeded jalapenos! Thanks for a great recipe Jerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States