Navy Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Awesome! I wasn't sure considering the absence of seasonings, but you don't need them! I made it exactly as stated and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Although I had made some changes, this recipe is pretty easy to put together and very tasty. Instead of water, I added equal parts of chicken stock and vegetable stock, just covering the beans. I added onions, leeks, cabbage and carrots to cook with the beans. Later, I added potato. Came out beyond fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This recipe is great! And thanks to Amber for the brown sugar suggestion. That is exactly the flavor I was trying to capture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good soup. Will make again. Really easy with only 4 ingredients. I had no tomato sauce on hand so I used 1 jar (maybe 16oz) of my home-canned marinara sauce. One caution: in my experience, no matter what the cooking method, Dutch oven or Crockpot, you need to soak those beans overnight - unless they are the no-soaking kind. I wholeheartedly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I must admit-I didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I have other navy bean and ham soups I like better, and they don't have tomato sauce in them. I couldn't imagine liking this...but I did. The tomato sauce was subtle and gave it a slightly different taste. I didn't add the ham hocks because I have discovered they always make things entirely too greasy to suit me. Toward the end of the cooking time, I added some thawed leftover ham I had in the freezer. The only complaint I have is that this recipe needs salt, but that's not hard to add to my taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was super easy. Nice flavor, easy to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Use Great Northern Beans and put half of soup in blender when done then mix all together is much creamier. Add a little brown sugar and it taste like baked bean soup. Can use half ham and half bacon if you want. Gave 4 stars because I changed it some. I use to have a daycare and the kids liked it because it was sweet (and healthy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Simple and delicious! 1/19/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
LOVE this soup! My family has made it for years. We do it just a bit different...we flavour the broth with a handful of black peppercorns, and when it's all done cooking we add half a bottle of ketchup. I was VERY hesitant to try it when my cousin made it for me for the first time, but I was blown away. How could such simple ingredients taste so good?!!? Very warm, filling, and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Omitted tomato sauce added 1 cup brown sugar and that's IT. SOUP IS AWESOME!!!! Just goes to show you sometimes the simplest least fancy looking food can be the heartiest simple pleasure for everyone eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States