Navy Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this dish. I soaked the beans over night.. in the crock pot I mixed the beans with a little bit of water, onions, ham hock, left over ham from thanksgiving, added carrots and corn.. instead of tomato sauce, I used a can of tomato soup and a can of tomato paste.. seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic salt and a dash of cumin. it simmered on high for about 6-7 hours.. it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Simple yet satisfying. I did a quick soak on the beans instead of overnight and then simmered the soup for 2 hours and the beans were still tender. I used skinless turkey sausage instead of ham. I had to add salt but the family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Awesome! I wasn't sure considering the absence of seasonings, but you don't need them! I made it exactly as stated and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Although I had made some changes, this recipe is pretty easy to put together and very tasty. Instead of water, I added equal parts of chicken stock and vegetable stock, just covering the beans. I added onions, leeks, cabbage and carrots to cook with the beans. Later, I added potato. Came out beyond fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This recipe is great! And thanks to Amber for the brown sugar suggestion. That is exactly the flavor I was trying to capture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good soup. Will make again. Really easy with only 4 ingredients. I had no tomato sauce on hand so I used 1 jar (maybe 16oz) of my home-canned marinara sauce. One caution: in my experience, no matter what the cooking method, Dutch oven or Crockpot, you need to soak those beans overnight - unless they are the no-soaking kind. I wholeheartedly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I must admit-I didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I have other navy bean and ham soups I like better, and they don't have tomato sauce in them. I couldn't imagine liking this...but I did. The tomato sauce was subtle and gave it a slightly different taste. I didn't add the ham hocks because I have discovered they always make things entirely too greasy to suit me. Toward the end of the cooking time, I added some thawed leftover ham I had in the freezer. The only complaint I have is that this recipe needs salt, but that's not hard to add to my taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was super easy. Nice flavor, easy to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Use Great Northern Beans and put half of soup in blender when done then mix all together is much creamier. Add a little brown sugar and it taste like baked bean soup. Can use half ham and half bacon if you want. Gave 4 stars because I changed it some. I use to have a daycare and the kids liked it because it was sweet (and healthy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Simple and delicious! 1/19/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States