Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
This soup is a keeper. I put all the ingredients except the tomatoes, salt, & pepper in a crockpot before leaving for work. Since the ham and bone were cold, I dissolved the bullion cube in boiling water and poured it over the ingredients. I added the tomatoes and pepper when I got home (the ham dded enough salt to the soup) and it was ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Excellent soup! Loved the flavors...easy to make..one pot deal! I did add chopped carrots and the juice from the can of tomatoes. I cooked this soup on very low simmer for about 4-5 hours...perfect. I highly suggest soaking the dried navy beans overnight...they plump up and cook easier. Great warm-u-up meal with fresh bread and salad. Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This recipe is "SOUPER" FANTASTIC! Wow - it was so much better than anticipated! I added one can of tomato soup with the second addition of water. I used fewer diced tomatoes because of this (don't like tomato chunks too much)! Wow, the flavour was really awesome! I also used just a basic chicken stock all the way, instead of plain water. Even the kids loved this one! Best recipe I've found yet!!!! Thanks!!! :-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HABERFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Wow! This is souper soup! It was very easy to prepare and tastes great. I sauted the veggies in a tiny bit of olive oil and butter before mixing in with the beans, water, etc. I don't know that it made any difference but it's a force of habit. I think the Worcester Sauce is a key ingredient. In any event, this recipe is now one of my "standards". Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I made this soup for the first time, I added a little carrot. Was a hit with my wife. Will make it again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Excellent Soup! I also added in two chopped carrots. As suggested in your bean information page, I added the tomatoes and salt at the very end so that the beans won't stay hard inside. This will definately be one of my favourite soups on a cold winters day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This is the way my mom always made this bean soup. It is delious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Subtle garlic and pepper undertones, combined with the light hickory flavor from the ham, make this soup as flavorful as it is hearty. I could'nt believe how easy it was. This soup will definately become my traditional use for the Easter ham leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I have tried several recipes looking for a Navy Bean soup I used to get at work. This recipe is the closest I have come to it so far. It was wonderful and will be my permanent recipe for this soup. Thank you Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Exactly what I was looking for. Well, I did add a can of chicken broth in the 3-cups-of-water part of the recipe. (I had dropped the can of broth and the pop top was snapped which is why I wanted to make soup in the first place.) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States