Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Wow! This is souper soup! It was very easy to prepare and tastes great. I sauted the veggies in a tiny bit of olive oil and butter before mixing in with the beans, water, etc. I don't know that it made any difference but it's a force of habit. I think the Worcester Sauce is a key ingredient. In any event, this recipe is now one of my "standards". Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
Great soup but I had to add carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
Although this recipe takes a long time to cook, it doesn't take long to compose the ingredients. It just needs a stir every now and then. Also next time I'm going to chop the ham in a cuisinart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Souop was great, and the Worcester sauce was also great. But, my God, who knew it took navy beans so long to cook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
An easy to prepare, delicious MEAL! My family loves it. I make it when it's cold and we're all around the house in pajamas for the day. We can't wait to get snowed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I just tried this recipe. Very tasty. I used dry great northern beans, which cooked a bit faster. I don't keep a recipe unless I feel it is two thumbs up. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This soup was awesome! I had four(4) bowls prior to the Souperbowl, and one during halftime. For a beginning, bachelor chef, this was a simple recipe to throw together. (The recipe was slightly confusing as there are two calls for water (6 cups & 3 cups). Do the 6 cups initially, then add more over time.) After two hours, I added about 2tps of Garlic Salt to bring it to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I made this soup for the first time, I added a little carrot. Was a hit with my wife. Will make it again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Excellent Soup! I also added in two chopped carrots. As suggested in your bean information page, I added the tomatoes and salt at the very end so that the beans won't stay hard inside. This will definately be one of my favourite soups on a cold winters day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This is the way my mom always made this bean soup. It is delious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States