Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Wow! This is souper soup! It was very easy to prepare and tastes great. I sauted the veggies in a tiny bit of olive oil and butter before mixing in with the beans, water, etc. I don't know that it made any difference but it's a force of habit. I think the Worcester Sauce is a key ingredient. In any event, this recipe is now one of my "standards". Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
Great soup but I had to add carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
Although this recipe takes a long time to cook, it doesn't take long to compose the ingredients. It just needs a stir every now and then. Also next time I'm going to chop the ham in a cuisinart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Souop was great, and the Worcester sauce was also great. But, my God, who knew it took navy beans so long to cook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
An easy to prepare, delicious MEAL! My family loves it. I make it when it's cold and we're all around the house in pajamas for the day. We can't wait to get snowed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I just tried this recipe. Very tasty. I used dry great northern beans, which cooked a bit faster. I don't keep a recipe unless I feel it is two thumbs up. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This soup was awesome! I had four(4) bowls prior to the Souperbowl, and one during halftime. For a beginning, bachelor chef, this was a simple recipe to throw together. (The recipe was slightly confusing as there are two calls for water (6 cups & 3 cups). Do the 6 cups initially, then add more over time.) After two hours, I added about 2tps of Garlic Salt to bring it to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I made this soup for the first time, I added a little carrot. Was a hit with my wife. Will make it again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Excellent Soup! I also added in two chopped carrots. As suggested in your bean information page, I added the tomatoes and salt at the very end so that the beans won't stay hard inside. This will definately be one of my favourite soups on a cold winters day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This is the way my mom always made this bean soup. It is delious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States