Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is ok, not great on flavor. Perhaps hot sauce added in while it was cooking would have helped, or as one other reader posted, using a mix of beans instead of just navy beans, would have helped with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROUBLEINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great recipe! Did as others did and waited to put the tomatoes in. Used chicken paste instead of bouillon. Did not have quite enough Worcestershire sauce but still came out perfect - definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My family and I absolutely love this recipe! the only thing I do different is I use a combination of Pinto, Navy and Great Northern beans. I always serve it with a mexican cornbread recipe from this site and both are wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canute, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was just ok. Probably something that I will not make again. It felt like it needed a little more something added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Just the recipe I've been looking for! Extremely easy to prepare, and the results are delicious! We had this for dinner tonight, and it was a definite comfort food after having a week of El Nino storms. The only ingredient I added was a half-teaspoon of brown sugar. This helps cut the acidity some canned tomatoes have. I used navy beans that had been in the pantry for a while, so it took about 5 hours total to prepare the soup. I didn't have a ham bone or hocks on hand, so I used a ham steak. I really liked the fact that pre-soaking was not required. This recipe is a definite recommend!--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was a really great recipe. It was a little more liquidy than I expected and I only added 2 or the 3 extra cups of water halfway through. I will do this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I like this as a base. The reason the beans didn't cook in the recipes is becasue they added the tomatoes too early. Acid in tomatoes will keep the cellulose in vegetables esp beans bron breaking down...I boilb for ten munites then simmer the beans for one hour. I also used chix and veg stock...I use more water and put in mashed potatoes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
the whole family said it was the best bean soup they ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
A very outstanding basic bean soup. I had never made a bean soup before so I read the comments of others and ended up with the following mods (and a great soup): PRE SOAK THE BEANS overnight, this reduced cooking time to 2 hrs, double the Worcestershire Sauce, parsley, and powdered garlic, add some Franks hot sauce, feel free to over do the ham. I skipped the tomatoes b/c the acid could impact the beans cooking. Great recipe, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthvilleLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great Recipe. The only change I made was added Rotel tomatoes with green peppers. I doubled it, thinking I would be able to freeze for another meal, but not much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States