Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Here's a tip from my mom. If you are going to use a ham bone for flaver, cook the ham bone in water & make the stock first. Then use it instead of cooking it all together. It will give a lot more room in the pot for veggies & it is a lot easier to remove bone & bits from stock then it is when its in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
With changes below, this warrants five stars. Okay, I am NOT a purist and use whatever tastes best. White Northern beans I find a little boring, so I used a bulk foods 13 bean mix, which had split peas, lentils, pinto, black, black eyed peas, garbanzo and several other types INCLUDING White Northern. This bean mix is cheaper, especially in bulk, and possesses a much more complex flavor than just white beans alone. Second, in the six cups of water I used half chicken broth and half vegetable broth (both Better than Boullion) so that the flavors better complimented the vegetable mix in the soup. Cayenne pepper instead of black, to go with the smoky flavor of half a pack of bacon (as opposed to straight ham, it was all I had on hand). I added 1 teaspoon celery seed to go with the celery stalks, plus three large carrots. Also, though I had diced tomatoes on hand I figured hand-chopped Roma would add more flavor and better texture. The beans were soaked overnight, so the soup only needs three hours on high in the crock pot to combine and reduce properly. Served with homemade cornbread it was PHENOMENAL! One of the best bean soups I have had, with the tweaks. Perhaps it is not Navy Bean anymore, but I think the taste is quite a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
This soup is a keeper. I put all the ingredients except the tomatoes, salt, & pepper in a crockpot before leaving for work. Since the ham and bone were cold, I dissolved the bullion cube in boiling water and poured it over the ingredients. I added the tomatoes and pepper when I got home (the ham dded enough salt to the soup) and it was ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made this today and was surprised how quickly it cooked. I did not pre-soak the beans, and it was done in 3 1/2 hours. I sauted the onions, garlic and ham first with non-fat spray, plus added carrots. Used half vegetable broth and half water, plus the chicken bullion. Did not add salt, bay leaf, or parsley. Did add a little cayanne pepper. I was skeptical of the tomatos since they are not my favorite thing in soup, but they are really good. It does not turn it into a "tomato based soup" if you know what I mean, they are just a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Can I give this 6 stars??? Made it yesterday, but goofed and bought 2 ham hocks instead of the ham. Threw everything in my stockpot but used chicken broth instead of water. The whole day the aroma drove me crazy. I had soaked the beans overnight so was prepared to have a shorter cooking time, but I guess the beans were older. I wound up cooking this for about 5 and a half hours, and it was fabulous. All I did was warm up some crusty bread to eat with it. I will be having it again tonight...in fact, right now! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This recipe is "SOUPER" FANTASTIC! Wow - it was so much better than anticipated! I added one can of tomato soup with the second addition of water. I used fewer diced tomatoes because of this (don't like tomato chunks too much)! Wow, the flavour was really awesome! I also used just a basic chicken stock all the way, instead of plain water. Even the kids loved this one! Best recipe I've found yet!!!! Thanks!!! :-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HABERFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I made this in the slow cooker. I decreased the amount of beans so that everything would fit. I cooked it on low for about 8 hours and the flavor was tremendous! I also added uncooked bacon in the beginning which gave off lots of flavor as it cooked down. I added carrots also. The result was a very rich and thick soup. The stalk was thick; not too runny. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
YUM! I made this today and YEEHAAAA! It was GREAT! I made a few subtle changes as follows: I got one of those mongo-sized chicken broth cans (49.5 oz) and for the initial "water" used 4 cups water plus appx 2.5 cups broth. The rest of the broth I dumped in for the second addition of water (and used no water that time at all). I still used the bullion cube initially. I added ham hocks as well as a half lb of chopped up ham, and I used an extra celery stick. Oh, and it cooked a full 6 hours (which is what it took to get the beans to soften). THOSE ARE THE ONLY CHANGES I made! It really was delicious... SO FULL OF FLAVOR! Needed no second seasoning w/S&P (maybe cause of the broth?). Everyone loved this incl my 7 yr old. I served w/french breat and thats it! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
What a great recipe! My father used to make very good bean soup, but I couldn't remember just what the ingredients were. I think this recipe has them all, except for carrots, which I added. The one thing I did differently was that I didn't add that last 3 cups of water because we like soups like this to be pretty thick, and this came out perfectly with just the initial 6 cups of water. Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The aroma of this soup is wonderful. I used a hambone leftover from christmas and some extra ham. I also used fresh garlic and some garlic powder. I had only fresh Italian (flat leaf) so I used that instead of the dried. Also I had Better than Boullion paste I substituted for the cube. Everything came out wonderful and delish! It wasnt to thick or to thin, just perfect. I like to add lots and lots of fresh ground black pepper to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States