Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed gregoryz's tip to cook the ham bone first. I had a meaty one that I cooked in the six cups of water called for in the recipe. Meanwhile, I boiled a bunch of water in another stock pot, and turned off the heat when I put the beans in to soak. I let them soak over an hour, then drained off the water in a colander--someone said if you don't use the same water to cook the beans that they won't give you as much gas. The jury's out on that. I then put the beans in with the ham bone and the water I'd been cooking it in. I followed the recipe (except no bouillon cube) up until it calls for 3 cups of water. I used 4 cups of chicken broth instead and added a bunch of ham. It made a little too much broth so I mashed a can of northern beans to thicken it. It was really tasty, although I could've added some salt and cut down a cup of the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I LOVED this soup. With some of the additions from the reviews (bullion instead of water - 15 bean instead of navy) and a can of tomato sauce it was incredible. Each day it tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent flavor. In fact, I was going to the store to buy ham but when I tasted the soup it was so good, I didn't put ANY HAM IN IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Moore Tilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I substituted smoked turkey and used a quart of chicken (or vegetarian "no chicken" broth in place of boulion and part of the water, used fresh parsley (3-4T) and increased the vegetables (more celery, carrots and garlic and added a little bit of leftover cauliflower and red bell pepper) but otherwise basically followed the recipe and thought it was excellent! I garnished with fresh chopped parsley and chopped red bell pepper and served with corn bread. My husband praised it and even my toddler ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Made this once with bacon and of course a little salsa. It was FANTASTIC! I had never eaten Navy Beans but yum, yum. Making it again today with a hambone, and RoTel Hot Chopped Tomatoes and some fresh grape tomatoes (less work). It smells awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Mosher Finger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made it when my siblings were sick. They all loved it :) I mixed navy beans and kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benedicm10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wapato, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This soup was exceptional. I followed the recipe but did have to make a few adjustments because of what I had on hand. Turned out great and I'll do it the same way next time. I only had a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies so used that instead of plain tomatoes. Also used all fresh garlic instead of fresh AND powdered. Aside from that I followed the recipe to the tee. Of..didn't add extra salt because other ingredients already has so much salt in them. Thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
OMG- this soup is amazing! I made this mostly for my hubby as I didn't think I would like it at all....well, was I ever wrong! This is quite easily one of the best soups I have ever made! I had made a ham and made broth from the bone instead of using water as the recipe called for. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used fresh. It was done in 3.5 hours instead of 4. Eating some right now - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Excellent Soup! I added some carrots to mine, and I didn't have any dried parsley. I'll be making this again, but I will use half the amount of tomatoes to suite my own taste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Absolutely fantastic soup. I doubled the recipe and it came out great. One suggestion: to cut down on cooking time soak the beans for about an hour before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States