Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent flavor. In fact, I was going to the store to buy ham but when I tasted the soup it was so good, I didn't put ANY HAM IN IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I substituted smoked turkey and used a quart of chicken (or vegetarian "no chicken" broth in place of boulion and part of the water, used fresh parsley (3-4T) and increased the vegetables (more celery, carrots and garlic and added a little bit of leftover cauliflower and red bell pepper) but otherwise basically followed the recipe and thought it was excellent! I garnished with fresh chopped parsley and chopped red bell pepper and served with corn bread. My husband praised it and even my toddler ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Made this once with bacon and of course a little salsa. It was FANTASTIC! I had never eaten Navy Beans but yum, yum. Making it again today with a hambone, and RoTel Hot Chopped Tomatoes and some fresh grape tomatoes (less work). It smells awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made it when my siblings were sick. They all loved it :) I mixed navy beans and kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benedicm10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wapato, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This soup was exceptional. I followed the recipe but did have to make a few adjustments because of what I had on hand. Turned out great and I'll do it the same way next time. I only had a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies so used that instead of plain tomatoes. Also used all fresh garlic instead of fresh AND powdered. Aside from that I followed the recipe to the tee. Of..didn't add extra salt because other ingredients already has so much salt in them. Thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
OMG- this soup is amazing! I made this mostly for my hubby as I didn't think I would like it at all....well, was I ever wrong! This is quite easily one of the best soups I have ever made! I had made a ham and made broth from the bone instead of using water as the recipe called for. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used fresh. It was done in 3.5 hours instead of 4. Eating some right now - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Excellent Soup! I added some carrots to mine, and I didn't have any dried parsley. I'll be making this again, but I will use half the amount of tomatoes to suite my own taste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Absolutely fantastic soup. I doubled the recipe and it came out great. One suggestion: to cut down on cooking time soak the beans for about an hour before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Well, this turned out great! I had never had this soup before but my husband's mother made it all his life (she had passed away before I could meet her). He said to me one day "can you make some navy bean soup?" I told him I didn't know how. He said "my mom used to make it and she used ....". I thought "oh boy, how do I make something his mother made and I can't ask her anything?". So, I found your recipe and it had most of the ingredients that he said he mother used (I added carrots). I made your soup yesterday and he couldn't get enough of it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I made the following adaptations due to what I had on-hand, and it was out of this world. 1 (15 oz.) can black beans, 1 (15 oz.) can white beans, 6 cups Swanson organic chicken broth (in place of water), 2 extra stalks of celery, turkey ham, pre-cooked (optional, but sooo good), no bouillon needed due to broth no garlic powder needed; fresh was enough. All other ingreds. kept the same. Thank you for the recipe, Angchick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States