Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was great - omitted the tomatoes and bay leaf, and added a few extra chicken bouillon cubes, probably would have still tasted great as is. Soaked beans overnight and put in crockpot on high - was done by 4-5 hours (did add some extra water). Kids even gobbled it up (5yo & 3yo!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I did not care for this soup. Since it could be a personal taste thing, I did not want to give it a bad review. It didn't have any off flavors, but just an overall taste I didn't like. The majority of the flavor I tasted was smokiness from the bacon, but little else. Also, You may want to cook the beans alone (in water) 1 1/2 hours before adding the other ingredients. Using tomatoes or other acidic things at the beginning, will make it so the beans will either not cook all the way through or it will take 8-12 hours to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I am not a big soup eater but this was very good.I used fresh tomatoes and chicken stock in place of water. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
A very good soup!!! I gave it 4 stars because I did alter the recipe a bit. I used a ham bone instead of chopped ham and WOW it was over the top!!! I also only used 6 cups of water and cooked it for 5 hours on high in my crock pot. I did soak my beans overnight and then drained them and put them in the crock pot with everything else. Before serving, I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top and it melted nicely into the soup for a little extra flavor. I WILL be making this again for my family!! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I just made this soup & it is as good as everyone said it was. Thanks for a recipe I will make time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great soup after I cooked it "my way". I use ham stock (I make, then freeze) from a leftover ham bone (or use smoked ham hocks?) I recommend using this for any bean w/ham soup for rich deep flavor. Maybe I should post a recipe for this, eh? Onwards: I did "softly" boil navy beans (w/tblsp of Baking soda) for 3 minutes (use a large pot as it will foam up) turn off heat & let em sit for an hour. Drained/rinsed beans then adding to 4 cups ham stock in clean large pot. I used bay leaf, celery, onion, garlic, 1 tblsp Worchester & additional water to cover beans by 1". I did add 3 diced carrots too. *Don't add tomatos or anything acidic during 1st 2 hours or your beans won't soften (as stated previously.) I think a tsp of liquid smoke would add some dimension if you don't have stock to use. I didn't need chicken bouillion and use salt (if needed) during last hour. I did add some cayenne pepper & tsp of dried thyme. Soup has better developed flavor the next day! A splash of lemon juice shortly before serving gives any bean soup a bright note of flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is ok, not great on flavor. Perhaps hot sauce added in while it was cooking would have helped, or as one other reader posted, using a mix of beans instead of just navy beans, would have helped with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROUBLEINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great recipe! Did as others did and waited to put the tomatoes in. Used chicken paste instead of bouillon. Did not have quite enough Worcestershire sauce but still came out perfect - definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My family and I absolutely love this recipe! the only thing I do different is I use a combination of Pinto, Navy and Great Northern beans. I always serve it with a mexican cornbread recipe from this site and both are wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canute, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was just ok. Probably something that I will not make again. It felt like it needed a little more something added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States