Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fabulous just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made this yesterday - according to directions with the exception of adding carrot slices at the end for color. While it was cooking, I wasn't sure how I felt about the Worchester Sauce but as the beans softened and opened they seemed to absorb some of the sauce taste and by the end of cooking, it was perfect! My son & granddaughters stopped by and loved it as did my sister. In the end, by the time I divided some off for the others, I ended up with only a few bowls for myself! I will definitely use this recipe from here on. I've made bean soup for years but this version is even better. I hate when people use a recipe and change half the ingredients - then they rate what is essentially not the same thing at all. I don't think I really "changed" much by adding the carrots - they're just a part of almost every soup made around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Rostad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe calls for chopped ham... but I see people referencing the ham BONE in their comments. I used CHOPPED HAM, which has no bone. Mine's cooking now and it smells wonderful... I hope I didn't screw it up. Based on the ease of preparation, look and smell, I'm giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelie Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was awesome, the only thing I added extra was powdered cayenne pepper. I like to make a recipe just like the poster recommends the first time I try a new recipe. Then the second time I add my own changes. How else can you say you've tried it if you make too many changes. I'ts no longer the same recipe. I know I added cayenne but I like a little heat. This will be made again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I probably had a lot more water in the first phase of cooking since I boiled down a ham bone first to start the broth because I didn't need to add more water. My soup was done in only 1.5 hours. I also put baking soda in my bean water soak so maybe that made them softer anyway. The flavor was just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this soup and it was delicious! I like my soups thick so I added a bag of butter mashed potatoes along with a cup of water with 2tbsp of flour whisked in til smooth. I also use a ham shank instead of diced ham but diced ham is also good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great soup! I used a can of tomato soup rather than diced tomatoes. Next time I will skip the salt, I think ham seems to be salty enough in general. Glad I have more ham bones in the freezer for another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I was not sure about the tomatoes in the soup but it really turned out great. We will make this again. I did not use the ham or the Chicken stock, just veggie stock. I did add some liquid smoke and some smoked paprika. Kind of faked DH on the missing ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I will keep this for a good basic recipe for ham and beans. I did, however, substitute tomato soup for the canned tomatoes, because I don't care for chunks of tomatoes in ham and beans. I also added carrots and used smoked applewood sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wonderful! I adapted a bit based on other reviews. Soaked the beans overnight, used a combination of stock from ham bone and chicken broth as well as cayenne pepper and extra black pepper. After a few hours it was good - after 8 hours in the crock pot it was excellent! Will be making this again ... And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States