Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This wouldn't fit in my 4 quart crockpot so I went with low flame on the stovetop. Read several reviews here so made some mods but also tried staying true to the original. Soaked beans 1hr prior, rinse. Sprinkled a little brown sugar just in case tomatoes effected beans. Added all ingredients at once except turkey ham (my only sub) went in the last 1-1/2 hrs. Also at that point added 1 small bag baby carrots chopped & 8 petite red potatoes chunked. After 2hrs all my water was absorbed & beans still firm so I don't know how people didn't add the remaining water, maybe it's different in a crockpot? About 30min before finish I put 4 big spoonfuls in the food processor then dumped that back in the pot to make it creamy instead of watery. End result was great flavor & thickness, will definitely make again! ps- left out the salt & didn't miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
loved, loved, loved it !!! I didn't add as much water in the end since I like my soups rich, but followed the recipe as written and it was great - and easy !!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
So yummy! Reminded me somewhat of canned bean with bacon soup but so much better! I added carrots like others have suggested to try to incorporate more veggies. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. It turned out great! Everyone who tried it complimented my cooking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent and worth my 5 stars. I only made a few minor changes. I soaked the beans over night. I didn't have onion so I used dried minced onion. No celery so I used dried celery seed. I didn't add the parsley, or garlic powder. I used 3 Ham hocks, a cup of carrots, and 8 cups of water..It was very delish and a recipe I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and was pleased. Great meal for my diet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I just made this today and it was a total success, except for my 2 and a half year old. The only difference I did was I used hunts fire roasted diced tomatos, added carrots, and I used turkey ham. It was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good soup. Tasted even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Hawver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this for the first time and my husband couldn't eat enough! I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annetteide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was excellent! I used a ham bone left over from christmas and no additional meat and it was perfect. Also used fresh tomato since I had extras and 2 carrots. I went ahead and added the extra 3 C water in the beginning only because I needed to cover my ham bone and it only simmered for about 3 1/4 hours covered since we like our soup a little on the brothy side. Right before serving I added about 1T vinegar to cut the sweetness from my glazed ham. This will be my navy bean soup recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was great, and even my son who doesn't like beans enjoyed it. I cooked a leftover ham bone in the 6 cups of water for about an hour, then added the beans and cooked for another 2 hours. At that point I added the chopped ham, 4 pieces of cooked bacon, and the veggies because I didn't want them to get to soft or overcooked, and I cooked it for another hour. I also threw in a couple of chopped carrots and a potato at this point. I accidentally forgot the tomatoes, and I didn't have any garlic powder, but it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States