Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Absolutely fantastic soup. I doubled the recipe and it came out great. One suggestion: to cut down on cooking time soak the beans for about an hour before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Well, this turned out great! I had never had this soup before but my husband's mother made it all his life (she had passed away before I could meet her). He said to me one day "can you make some navy bean soup?" I told him I didn't know how. He said "my mom used to make it and she used ....". I thought "oh boy, how do I make something his mother made and I can't ask her anything?". So, I found your recipe and it had most of the ingredients that he said he mother used (I added carrots). I made your soup yesterday and he couldn't get enough of it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious! I made the following adaptations due to what I had on-hand, and it was out of this world. 1 (15 oz.) can black beans, 1 (15 oz.) can white beans, 6 cups Swanson organic chicken broth (in place of water), 2 extra stalks of celery, turkey ham, pre-cooked (optional, but sooo good), no bouillon needed due to broth no garlic powder needed; fresh was enough. All other ingreds. kept the same. Thank you for the recipe, Angchick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I gave this recipe three stars because it is flawed, but does offer a good start to a great navy bean soup. For a true "restaurant quality" navy bean soup, delete the can of tomatoes completely, simmer with a ham bone and ham for two hours, and then at the end of two hours, pour in a can of tomato soup to get the broth "just right". Completely unnecessary to add three cups of water and then simmer for an additional two hours. After two hours, your veggies will be a soggy mess. Just add the tomato soup, adjust water as necessary to give you a good consistency (may need about 4-5 ounces) and then adjust salt to taste, and voila, perfect restaurant navy bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Dundee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great basic bean soup recipe. I used a big ham bone from a spiral ham with a lot of meat on it, and simmered the beans with it, half an onion, a whole carrot, a couple of celery stalks & bay leaves until the beans were just tender. Then I removed the mushy vegetables & bones, shredded the ham, added a 28 oz can of tomatoes (I love tomatoes), more water and chopped carrots, onion, celery, potatoes, green pepper, a stock cube and some thyme, oregano and chili-garlic puree. Simmered until the vegetables were tender and it was the best bean soup I've ever made! It made a HUGE pot with lots of leftovers for the freezer. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Thank you for this very simple, but delicious recipe. This is my new go-to soup recipe. Very filling and satisfying. I used Canadian bacon instead of ham with great results. Next time I will decrease the salt to 1/2 tsp. or omit altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This soup is good,but not great. I used 4 cups chicken broth & 2 cups water, eliminated the bouillon cube. It got alot better when I added a small can of tomato sauce and a couple of drops of liquid smoke. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
i didn't enjoy this all, but ill give a three because it smelled so good and i'm not sure if it was a texture or a taste thing that made me dislike it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very easy soup, basic starter, you can add different vegetables. I like to add carrots...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States