Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very good flavorful soup. I used a ham bone and cooked everything together. Removed the bone and fat at the end of 2 hours. Used chicken stock in place of the water and also added carrots, more fresh garlic(didn't use the powder) and onions. I used fresh parsley too. Also added liquid smoke and 4 T. of cider vinegar at the end. I didn't add anymore ham as there was quite a bit on the bone and I also did not add 3 more cups of water - probably just added another cup of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Delicious! I have made this several times since the first time I downloaded the recipe! This Easter I didnt buy chicken stock so I used the chicken bouillion as recipe stated but I think I prefer the chicken stock. I also boiled the ham bone in plain water before adding to the soup as someone else had suggested. That was a great tip and this recipe is just delicious! Just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
First tip; never add salt to cooking beans, don't know the reason but if you do add salt the beans never get done all the way, could be a reason for your crunch. My mother made the best bean soup ever and she always started with leftover ham bone (flavor is in the bone) also believe it or not at the very end of making the soup ....for a large pot of soup add 3-4 tbl. of cider vinegar. People will have NO idea what's different but it does give the soup more flavor. Good luck. Hope I helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
this recipe sounds so good, not tried it yet, but I will. I'm from the uk and some ingredients are not known to me, can you give me an idea what beans to use, here we have never heard of navy beans:(( what is the alternative, please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very good recipe but I dont think I would make it again. I did make a few changes. like most others I added carrots and used chicken broth instead of water, other then that I made it exaxtly as written. My only other comment would be that it tasted a lot like can pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This soup was soooo good! I didn't use tomatoes and used carrots instead. I cooked it all day in the crockpot and it was a hit! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I added carrots. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
First let me say that I've made Navy Bean soup many times. I used to buy the flavor packet they sold at the Honeybaked Hams store, it was delicious! Then they quit selling it and I began my search for a good recipe. I can now say that I've found it! My family and I give this recipe 5 stars! That said I did eliminate the tomatoes, and because we like a little thicker broth, I added about 1/2 cup of instant mashed potatoes ( a little trick my Mom taught me). It really is the best Navy Bean Soup I've had in a very long time! BTW... I did use a Honeybaked ham bone left over from Thanksgiving, I do think their hams make the best soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed gregoryz's tip to cook the ham bone first. I had a meaty one that I cooked in the six cups of water called for in the recipe. Meanwhile, I boiled a bunch of water in another stock pot, and turned off the heat when I put the beans in to soak. I let them soak over an hour, then drained off the water in a colander--someone said if you don't use the same water to cook the beans that they won't give you as much gas. The jury's out on that. I then put the beans in with the ham bone and the water I'd been cooking it in. I followed the recipe (except no bouillon cube) up until it calls for 3 cups of water. I used 4 cups of chicken broth instead and added a bunch of ham. It made a little too much broth so I mashed a can of northern beans to thicken it. It was really tasty, although I could've added some salt and cut down a cup of the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I LOVED this soup. With some of the additions from the reviews (bullion instead of water - 15 bean instead of navy) and a can of tomato sauce it was incredible. Each day it tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States