Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I am sorry to say I was really disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly (I would never rate one otherwise), but it was not what I was hoping for. The beans were still hard after the cooking time specified in the recipe. It was too watery for my liking, and I didn't like the strong tomato taste. But this is of course, my own personal opinion. I will keep looking for the perfect Navy Bean Soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wonderful flavor and a very substantial soup which can be a main dish. I used two smoked ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I always pre-soak my beans - just old school that way. Used this recipe to create a wonderful dish that hit the spot on a cold night. Thank you Angchick for a great recipe that we enjoyed tonight and will again very soon. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I like more hearty soups and made this with a 2 lb ham bone (1.5 lb of ham once bone was removed)and it turned out great. I did not add the 1 tsp salt and had to add a little more water at the end. The soup was the best navy bean soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this soup because I had lots of leftover ham, but no ham bone. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon. I also used carrots instead of celery. I had about a 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to use up, so I subbed that for the diced tomatoes. I cooked the beans, drained, and rinsed them. I then sauteed the carrots, onion, and garlic, before adding the seasoning and tomato sauce. I then added about 2 C. of diced ham, chicken stock, and the beans. This turned out beautifully, and was even better the second day. It wasn't as good soup made with the ham bone, but a good alternative. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this pretty much as directed and initally wanted to rate the recipe a 3. It seemed like it was missing something. I didn't use the tomatoe as that didn't appeal to us and I used mostly chicken broth in place of the water (and still added the bouillon but didn't add any salt and found it didn't need it.) I soaked my beans for 8 hours and threw it all in the crock pot and cooked for about 8 hours. It seemed pretty watery and kind of greasy, so I skimmed almost a cup of grease off the top which made a considerable difference (I used a meaty ham bone,) and I added about an 1/8 of a cup of hot sause, mashed down some of the beans, and cooked it for another 2 hours. I decided to rate this a 4 when my son and daughter couldn't get enough of it! Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ertgreen
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! I soaked the beans overnight and they still had a nice firmness. I thought it was a little watery so I puréed part of it once it was finished and then cooked on high 30 minutes with the lid off to thicken. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is a truly good bean soup recipe. What makes it so is: no presoaking of the beans; no sauteeing; no odd, hard to find ingredients; superb flavor. Right before I finished the simmering I scooped out a cup of the beans, pureed them, and threw the puree back into the pot. This made the soup creamy and thick (but not too thick) without having to cook the beans even more. The soup is complex with a little bit of texture from the tomato and onion bits. I made the recipe exactly as written, and discovered also that 8 oz of cooked ham already chopped can be purchased at the grocery store. Now there's a first. I really, really like the great flavor and simplicity of this recipe--it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious! I had no ham, so I substituted with bacon - awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Used 15 bean soup mix (1 20oz. bag); 1 bag northern beans (1 lb. bag); 1/2 cayenne pepper and 1/2 black pepper; 1 tsp. celery seed (no celery as didn't have on hand);minced onion; minced garlic; 8 cups water instead of 12; 3 tsp. ReaLemon;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States