Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this pretty much as directed and initally wanted to rate the recipe a 3. It seemed like it was missing something. I didn't use the tomatoe as that didn't appeal to us and I used mostly chicken broth in place of the water (and still added the bouillon but didn't add any salt and found it didn't need it.) I soaked my beans for 8 hours and threw it all in the crock pot and cooked for about 8 hours. It seemed pretty watery and kind of greasy, so I skimmed almost a cup of grease off the top which made a considerable difference (I used a meaty ham bone,) and I added about an 1/8 of a cup of hot sause, mashed down some of the beans, and cooked it for another 2 hours. I decided to rate this a 4 when my son and daughter couldn't get enough of it! Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ertgreen
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! I soaked the beans overnight and they still had a nice firmness. I thought it was a little watery so I puréed part of it once it was finished and then cooked on high 30 minutes with the lid off to thicken. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is a truly good bean soup recipe. What makes it so is: no presoaking of the beans; no sauteeing; no odd, hard to find ingredients; superb flavor. Right before I finished the simmering I scooped out a cup of the beans, pureed them, and threw the puree back into the pot. This made the soup creamy and thick (but not too thick) without having to cook the beans even more. The soup is complex with a little bit of texture from the tomato and onion bits. I made the recipe exactly as written, and discovered also that 8 oz of cooked ham already chopped can be purchased at the grocery store. Now there's a first. I really, really like the great flavor and simplicity of this recipe--it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious! I had no ham, so I substituted with bacon - awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Used 15 bean soup mix (1 20oz. bag); 1 bag northern beans (1 lb. bag); 1/2 cayenne pepper and 1/2 black pepper; 1 tsp. celery seed (no celery as didn't have on hand);minced onion; minced garlic; 8 cups water instead of 12; 3 tsp. ReaLemon;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Presoaked beans to reduce cooking time, sauted carrots, celery and onion with oil before added other ingredients. Also added barley (2 c.). Since we had precooked beans, the amount of water called for still worked well (maybe could have used more). The barley cooks during the last 20-30 minutes or so. My husband said there were too many beans (I think we could have used some more liquids, but since I didn't have a can of tomatoes, that played into it some, too.) We are freezing the second half. Lastly, we made it vegetarian and had some ham on the side for meat eaters to stir in. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Thank you for this great recipe. I use "Better Than Ham" bouillon instead of the chicken bouillon and thicken the soup by mashing some of the beans and adding back to the pot. Your recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very good flavorful soup. I used a ham bone and cooked everything together. Removed the bone and fat at the end of 2 hours. Used chicken stock in place of the water and also added carrots, more fresh garlic(didn't use the powder) and onions. I used fresh parsley too. Also added liquid smoke and 4 T. of cider vinegar at the end. I didn't add anymore ham as there was quite a bit on the bone and I also did not add 3 more cups of water - probably just added another cup of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Delicious! I have made this several times since the first time I downloaded the recipe! This Easter I didnt buy chicken stock so I used the chicken bouillion as recipe stated but I think I prefer the chicken stock. I also boiled the ham bone in plain water before adding to the soup as someone else had suggested. That was a great tip and this recipe is just delicious! Just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
First tip; never add salt to cooking beans, don't know the reason but if you do add salt the beans never get done all the way, could be a reason for your crunch. My mother made the best bean soup ever and she always started with leftover ham bone (flavor is in the bone) also believe it or not at the very end of making the soup ....for a large pot of soup add 3-4 tbl. of cider vinegar. People will have NO idea what's different but it does give the soup more flavor. Good luck. Hope I helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States