Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe - a few changes for me were I added carrots, used chicken broth (as well as water) and I also used left over ham bone, along with some bacon for taste. Makes alot of soup and I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I thought this soup was excellent. I soaked my beans in advance, which eliminated an hour of cooking time. and also added carrots and little extra ham. Delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Family ate this up and RAVED about it. I did not include bay leaf or bouillon as I did not have them - just water. Family ate it before I could even add tomatoes. Brought beans to boil, then let them sit for 2 hours, then cooked in crockpot for about 5 hours. Easy, smelled great, and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Made this for my husband as he loves navy bean soup. There was not enough liquid in this soup for him. I even added the extra water as suggested. I am going to try and salvage this soup by adding some more chicken bouillon and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We didn't care for the soup. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This soup was very good but a little salty. I soaked the beans before cooking and added a couple of diced carrots as well as the ham bone. Topped it with the cheddar corn dumplings from the Tangy Bean Soup recipe on this site. Next time will omit the salt and add about 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper for a little zip.......or will use Rotel tomatoes instead of regular canned tomatoes. That would do it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I didn't add the boullian because the ham makes it salty enough. Too much ham, it was too salty and kind of flavorless. I would cut back on the ham so the flavor of the beans comes through more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I too added carrots, and sauteed the vegetables, ham and garlic before adding the other ingredients. This soup was super tasty! I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The aroma of this soup is wonderful. I used a hambone leftover from christmas and some extra ham. I also used fresh garlic and some garlic powder. I had only fresh Italian (flat leaf) so I used that instead of the dried. Also I had Better than Boullion paste I substituted for the cube. Everything came out wonderful and delish! It wasnt to thick or to thin, just perfect. I like to add lots and lots of fresh ground black pepper to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made this today and was surprised how quickly it cooked. I did not pre-soak the beans, and it was done in 3 1/2 hours. I sauted the onions, garlic and ham first with non-fat spray, plus added carrots. Used half vegetable broth and half water, plus the chicken bullion. Did not add salt, bay leaf, or parsley. Did add a little cayanne pepper. I was skeptical of the tomatos since they are not my favorite thing in soup, but they are really good. It does not turn it into a "tomato based soup" if you know what I mean, they are just a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States