Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I never seem to have ham on hand when I want to make this soup, so instead of ham I've used smoked sausage with very good results. Delish! Served with Portuguese Sweet Bread from this site, it makes for a great rainy day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Very tastey! I used 5 chicken broth cubes and seven cups of water initially. I didn't feel it needed more water when it was done. I also used the pressure cooker at 15lbs for 45 minutes to speed cooking. I didn't have ham so I substituted Canadian bacon and I added tabasco to my portion to spice it up. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Haysville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It's a hearty soup, but a little too heavy on flavor (maybe just the salt?). I used pre-cooked, pre-cubed ham and they turned into flavorless chunks. I would rather use a ham bone or salt pork and skip the extra salt. I would definitely make again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Nothing better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This turned out great and my three year old even loved it. Thats almost a first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This soup is amazing! I doubled the recipe and used a 1kg (~2lb) smoked ham. My mother-in-law and husband are from Eastern Europe, where bean soup is a staple. My husband said it was the best bean soup he's ever had. My mother-in-law said that I can get married now because this bean soup is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Cheap & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
With changes below, this warrants five stars. Okay, I am NOT a purist and use whatever tastes best. White Northern beans I find a little boring, so I used a bulk foods 13 bean mix, which had split peas, lentils, pinto, black, black eyed peas, garbanzo and several other types INCLUDING White Northern. This bean mix is cheaper, especially in bulk, and possesses a much more complex flavor than just white beans alone. Second, in the six cups of water I used half chicken broth and half vegetable broth (both Better than Boullion) so that the flavors better complimented the vegetable mix in the soup. Cayenne pepper instead of black, to go with the smoky flavor of half a pack of bacon (as opposed to straight ham, it was all I had on hand). I added 1 teaspoon celery seed to go with the celery stalks, plus three large carrots. Also, though I had diced tomatoes on hand I figured hand-chopped Roma would add more flavor and better texture. The beans were soaked overnight, so the soup only needs three hours on high in the crock pot to combine and reduce properly. Served with homemade cornbread it was PHENOMENAL! One of the best bean soups I have had, with the tweaks. Perhaps it is not Navy Bean anymore, but I think the taste is quite a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
My father-in-law says it is so good I should sell the recipe! My wife loved it, but it is in some way a real "guy" soup. Probably a Super Bowl hit. It is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States