Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was tasty, but the overwhelming flavor really seemed to be salt, which came all from the ham, because I didn't add any more salt. It was easy, but I'm not sure I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was a very tasty recipe! I will make this again. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe was very good. I made it with a ham bone that was left over. My family enjoyed this. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made this soup today with a Smoked Ham Hock and I added Liquid Smoke because I love the flavour that the smoke gives it...it is delicious but I had to simmer it for almost 6 hours, not the suggested 4 hours the recipe stated. I didn't add the salt or chicken cube until after the 5th hour of cooking, knowing well that salt inhibits the cooking of the beans. While the recipe did not state to soak the beans overnight, I think I will definately add this step in the future to see if it will make a difference in the cooking time. With that said, this is really a delicious soup that you can make on the back burner on a lazy Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was just ok soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I never seem to have ham on hand when I want to make this soup, so instead of ham I've used smoked sausage with very good results. Delish! Served with Portuguese Sweet Bread from this site, it makes for a great rainy day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Very tastey! I used 5 chicken broth cubes and seven cups of water initially. I didn't feel it needed more water when it was done. I also used the pressure cooker at 15lbs for 45 minutes to speed cooking. I didn't have ham so I substituted Canadian bacon and I added tabasco to my portion to spice it up. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Haysville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It's a hearty soup, but a little too heavy on flavor (maybe just the salt?). I used pre-cooked, pre-cubed ham and they turned into flavorless chunks. I would rather use a ham bone or salt pork and skip the extra salt. I would definitely make again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States