Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
What a fantastic soup! So easy and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe except for a few things. I soaked my beans for 24 hours,changing the water twice. I also slow cooked the recipe in a crockpot for approximately 12 hours. I left the ham bones in, until the beans finished cooking, then removed them to allow more room in the pot. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great starter recipe. I made the following changes and everyone raved about the texture and flavor. I made this with leftover honey smoked spiral ham from Christmas dinner. I removed most of the meat from the bone and simmered it for 11/2 hours with 2 bay leaves,which were then discarded. While this was cooking the beans were simmered for 11/2 hours. Using 5 cups of water from the ham bone and 4 cups of chicken broth I drained and added the beans, ham cut in bite size pieces, tomatoes, onions, celery, 2tbs minced garlic, worcestershire sauce,pepper and two course chopped carrots. A few shakes of Franks red hot and liquid smoke kicked it up a bit. Simmered this for another 2 hours and served with cornmeal biscuits. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This has to be the best bean soup I have ever eaten-my husband and I LOVED it! And I know many people hate it when people post that they like it and then say what they changed-we did make 2 changes. First, I chopped two carrots very fine and added to the soup. Second, we used a ham hock instead of just ham. It isn't too salty, and is delicious. I am adding this to my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Made this for NYE party at work, very good flavor. Presoaked beans after reading reviews. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I invited family over to share this and I should have made a double batch. We literally licked the pot clean! I used a hambone, added carrots and omitted the tomatoes and celery for personal preference. Other than that, everything was the same. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Wow! This was the best navy bean soup I've ever had! I only made a couple of changes. I had a VERY meaty honeybaked ham bone so I stewed it with onions, celery and bay leaf the day before I made the soup. I strained the stock, refrigerated overnight and skimmed the fat the next day. I separated the fat and bone in the solids from the stock and returned at least a half pound of the stewed meat into the soup recipe. I prepared the remainder of the recipe as directed, substituting 4 cups of ham stock and 1 can of low sodium chicken broth for the original six cups of water. I also substituted low sodium chicken broth for the last three cups of water. I did not add any salt as the ham provided plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe was great! Instead of straight water, I did use half chicken broth. I also added a few dashes each of paprika and cayenne pepper. My mom used to make a variation of this soup when I was little, but this was so much better! (sorry Mom) I will definitely be making again.. this is the perfect winter soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Fantastic!!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Unbelieveable recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States