Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very savory, and easily altered to your taste preference. I don't use ham very often: if I have it, I do, if I don't, it's great w/o it. I don't think the soup needs the bay leaf. Sometimes, I think people put them in becasue they are expected in soup... this one has so many flavors and spices already, it just gets lost and almost leaves a bitter aftertaste... Maybe it is mixing poorly with another spice. I add extra cayanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Good recipe, but make sure your beans are fresh! I made the mistake of grabbing a bag of beans from the back of my cupboard. Stale beans will never soften no matter how long you cook them. I ate it even though the beans were dry and the skins were tough, but my husband and daughter had chicken nuggets. I'll have to try again after I've given my husband enough time to forget about this mishap. I gave it 4 stars because of what it could have been =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very easy, delicious. Made with ingredients already in the pantry, no special or exotic ingredients. Whole family loved it, would double it next time to fill my 5 qt crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I cooked this in a crock pot. If you go this route - you want to up the setting to high for the last 2 hours or so to make sure the beans are adequately cooked. I added extra celery. The next time I prepare this I'm going to add more hame. A great meal for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ship's Galley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this delicious soup in my 12 quart stock pot. My husband and I loved it. I will make again. I only left out the celery. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
It was pretty good except was a little bland. I added more salt. My hubby sure liked it. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
What a fantastic soup! So easy and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe except for a few things. I soaked my beans for 24 hours,changing the water twice. I also slow cooked the recipe in a crockpot for approximately 12 hours. I left the ham bones in, until the beans finished cooking, then removed them to allow more room in the pot. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great starter recipe. I made the following changes and everyone raved about the texture and flavor. I made this with leftover honey smoked spiral ham from Christmas dinner. I removed most of the meat from the bone and simmered it for 11/2 hours with 2 bay leaves,which were then discarded. While this was cooking the beans were simmered for 11/2 hours. Using 5 cups of water from the ham bone and 4 cups of chicken broth I drained and added the beans, ham cut in bite size pieces, tomatoes, onions, celery, 2tbs minced garlic, worcestershire sauce,pepper and two course chopped carrots. A few shakes of Franks red hot and liquid smoke kicked it up a bit. Simmered this for another 2 hours and served with cornmeal biscuits. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This has to be the best bean soup I have ever eaten-my husband and I LOVED it! And I know many people hate it when people post that they like it and then say what they changed-we did make 2 changes. First, I chopped two carrots very fine and added to the soup. Second, we used a ham hock instead of just ham. It isn't too salty, and is delicious. I am adding this to my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States