Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
the whole family said it was the best bean soup they ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
A very outstanding basic bean soup. I had never made a bean soup before so I read the comments of others and ended up with the following mods (and a great soup): PRE SOAK THE BEANS overnight, this reduced cooking time to 2 hrs, double the Worcestershire Sauce, parsley, and powdered garlic, add some Franks hot sauce, feel free to over do the ham. I skipped the tomatoes b/c the acid could impact the beans cooking. Great recipe, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthvilleLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great Recipe. The only change I made was added Rotel tomatoes with green peppers. I doubled it, thinking I would be able to freeze for another meal, but not much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Ehh, this was just so so for me. I cooked it for 8 hrs in my crock pot and the beans were still a tad hard. Used 1/2 chicken broth/water combo, and left the tomato out. It just didn't have enough oomph to it, for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a very good and easy recipe for bean soup. I used a can of Ro-tel tomatos which added a little kick. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very Good (used a crockpot) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The best Navy Bean Soup I have ever made! Thank you! I wish I had doubled it! I did add some saltpork, but other than that followed directions exactly and it was awesome! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a very good recipe... Especially if you are looking for a lot of protein/fiber without eating meat. It makes a very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milehighbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I presoaked the beans, used 4 cups chicken broth instad of water and let this cook all afternoon in the crockpot. It's yummy!!!! This has earned a permanent place in my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I have made this several times... all I can say is AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States