Navy Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
2 cups Navy Beans (cooked), 4 Eggs, 1 14 oz. can evaporated milk, 1 stick butter, 1 teaspoon nutmeg,, 1 teaspoon cinnamon 2 T. Flour, 2 cups Sugar, 2 T. Vanilla, I put in an electric blender, blend beans, butter, milk, eggs, nutmeg,cinnamon and 2 Tablespoons of flour about 2 minutes on medium speed. Then pour mixture into a large mixing bowl. I added 2 cups of sugar and 2 Tablespoons of vanilla and mix well. # Pour into pie shells. Bake in pre-heated oven at 350 for about one hour or until golden brown.Makes 2 or 3 Bean Pies. After five minutes cover with cling wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Blah! Tasted very bland and had a mealy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
A very good tasting pie and one that is unusual. Your friends will have a good time trying to guess what it is made with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I love bean pie, but I really didn't like this one. This recipe didn't say anything about the "skins" of the beans. It says to "mash" the navy beans. Mashing did not get rid of the skins and they made the consistency of the pie horrible. Maybe if the beans were pureed, it would be ok. Also, the pie wasn't sweet enough for me so I would add more sugar if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I will not be making this pie again. It has a very mealy texture and you *can* taste the beans. I processed the beans in a food processor until completely pureed - actually, I think pureed navy beans would make a very good sandwich spread if mixed with some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I was skeptical at first but I gave this recipe a try. The pie is really good. Very much like a pumpkin pie, but with more body. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My name is Rochelle, I've been looking for this recipe for many years with no prevail. Until my surprise late one night I found it on this site. I was over joyed THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!! This pie is to die for even my 3 young sons enjoy it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
A great treat! Sounds a little unconventional, but it is delicious! I first heard of this type of pie from a friend and never could find the recipe. Now that I have it, I'm sure it will replace Pumpkin Pie as my family's favorite for holidays! :-) Thanks for sharing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States