Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
great recipe - but I used veggies that are typically in navratan korma to keep it sweet - bell peppers, peas, onions. Potatoes and carrots are not the norm for this dish and not the best choice. I also just went ahead and used all cream instead of milk. This dish is supposed to be pretty rich. Great base, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was just great! I didn't fry the nuts, I just dry roasted them in a pan. I also skipped frying the paneer since it holds its shape just fine without frying. I must have cut the potatos too large because they simply would not get done. I ended up adding more water so that it wouldn't get too dry. Instead of milk and cream I used fat-free half n half. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is one of the better Indian recipes ive made. Its probably as close as ive come to making something that i would find in an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Mine came out a bit soupy and a little too sweet. I think it's missing something. Lacks depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe always gets rave reviews from everyone. I don't use the paneer; instead I bake or saute extra firm tofu (16 oz package), and then put this in near the end of the cooking time. Also, I usually double the veggies and triple the sauce, so it doesn't dry out too much (wonderful w/basmati or naan). The addition of cilantro is nice (if you like it), as well as a pinch of sugar. I plan to try brown sugar next time. Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
If I hadn't had to cook it myself, it might have been as good as an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This dish is utterly delicious. I made a big batch of it and froze it in lunch sized portions for work. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Yummy recipe.. although browning the cheese seemed pointless as it just melts. Next time I'll just omit the cheese. We ate whole wheat pocket/pita bread with it and plain yogurt, which REALLY adds a lot! Best Indian recipe that I've tried on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I have tried and failed numerous times to make Indian food at home. This recipe was easy to follow and it tastes great. My Indian boyfriend said it was the best thing I have ever made. I used brocolli, cauliflower and chick peas in place of some of the other vegtables. I am going to try this sauce with mater paneer (as suggested by a previous reviewer). I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrodsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I read some of the other reviews, and I would agree that a little brown sugar is a good addition. I chopped too many vegetables, and when I added them, there was not enough sauce to coat, so I doubled the other ingredients... and added a few more shakes of all the spices - minus the cayenne pepper (which I didn't add at all). I also didn't have time to make the paneer, but it was just as good without. I took some to my friends' house, and they loved it. My husband told me it was excellent, and he would eat this dish anytime. For the person who said their vegetables didn't cook in the time allotted, cut them into smaller pieces, especially the potatoes, it will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States