Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe always gets rave reviews from everyone. I don't use the paneer; instead I bake or saute extra firm tofu (16 oz package), and then put this in near the end of the cooking time. Also, I usually double the veggies and triple the sauce, so it doesn't dry out too much (wonderful w/basmati or naan). The addition of cilantro is nice (if you like it), as well as a pinch of sugar. I plan to try brown sugar next time. Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe! I did tweek it abit for our personal tastes. We used a chopped tomato instead of tomato sauce and coconut milk for milk and heavy cream. I thought the spicing was just wonderful, we will definitely be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Great recipe! Since I don't like a lot of spicy "heat", I cut the amount of cayenne in half. It still had a "bite" to it, and several of my guests found it a little too spicy for them. Next time I may cut the cayenne down a bit further. Be sure to use golden raisins - I used dark raisins and they looked like bugs mixed in! I added some cauliflower flowerettes like my favorite Indian restaurant does. That restaurant also adds a little fresh cilantro, which I'll add next time since I love cilantro. I couldn't find garlic paste and ginger paste, so I just used fresh minced garlic and fresh minced ginger. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This dish was so delicious, I will be using this as a regular recipe! To save time(and just 'cause I was lazy)I used frozen mixed vegetables, and I cubed the potato into pea sized pieces(as per other reviews), cooking it in oil before adding the onion. Reduced the cayenne. No nuts in my cupboards, no problem!! Great even without. No paneer, either....just added extra veggies. Next time I will make sure to have cashews and paneer on hand, though. The raisins were a great touch. There were just enough in the dish to leave me wanting more. Also, I used part yogurt and part cream instead of milk and cream. I will be making this again and again! Thanks for such a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made this for my first dinner party ever - added coconut milk to the cream and milk, and also added pineapple at the end. I omitted the paneer since I made it with the Absolutely Amazing Palak Paneer from this site. I also omitted green beans and peas. The pineapple added a sweet, unique addition and much to my relief, everyone loved it - I actually ran out of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Absolutely divine, and quite easy too! I wasn't able to find any paneer at any of the local grocery stores, so I ended up making my own by curdling heavy milk with lime juice, and letting it air dry. I too substituted some coconut milk for the regular milk in the recipe, and added fresh cilantro. I just finished the leftovers on a tortilla for lunch today, and it was just as good as last night! This will be a regular recipe at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Duck
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is an exception version of the classic Indian dish. This is an excellent opportunity for home cooks to try a complicated Indian dish. The spicing is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I am a vegetarian who loves Indian food. Navratan korma is my favorite! There is another vegetable korma recipe that I use at home which I really like, but it's not quite perfect. So when I saw this one I was very excited! Unfortunately, my husband and I were disappointed. We did not include the paneer since the grocery stores near us did not carry it. I also only used 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne for our 6-year old's sake. I still thought the hotness was disproportionate to the other spices. We couldn't taste any of the nice flavor from the turmeric, etc. This dish was not bad, I just didn't think it was that great either. This didn't seem to taste much like the navratan korma we order at Indian restaurants. We probably will not make this again, and will continue to look for a good, authentic korma recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe! You can really use almost whatever veggies you have, which is the beauty of it. I used a red and orange bell pepper, squash, potatoes, tomatoes, golden raisins, carrots, walnuts, coconut milk instead of cream, curry powder instead of garam masala, and ginger powder instead of the paste. It turned out great!! I *highly* recommend pairing this with the Indian Style Basmati Rice: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Indian-Style-Basmati-Rice/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very good, almost as good as what I had at an Indian restaurant, EXCEPT I did NOT like it with tomato sauce. I should have known, since I don't care or it ordinarily, since it has paste and sugar in it, but was following the recipe exactly. It added a sweetness that I really didn't care for. Once I added the cream and salt, it helped mellow that out. Next time, like another reviewer, I'm going to add a can of pureed tomato instead. Also, I used walnuts for the nuts, and wow, they're so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States