Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Now ... I've never been a big fan of Gingerbread, as a general rule. I tolerated it! As taste goes, JUST because I'm me, I'd give these a "4" ... but to be fair, as Gingerbread goes these are the best I've ever tasted, and thus deserve a "5". Instead of Lard, I used Canola Oil. Did the trick! And I chose Fancy Molasses, as my other choice was Black Strap. Fancy is less bitter, thus I knew would give the cookies a better taste. They are not very "spiced" as some gingerbread ... may be why I like them (I usually find Gingerbread has to much spice for my liking). My daughter is mad for them. Trying to steal them before they;re even deocated. As far as shape goes ... they cut well, they cook well, firm outside, soft inside ... nice cookie! And they don't take forever to cool! Definite bonus for decorating purposes! ;) I forgot baking soda ... but they taste excellent anyway! And didn't rise much, which actually help them keep their shape better compared to other cookies I've made! I may always leave out the baking soda! I really liked how they turned out! Going to make a great Christmas cookie! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I've put off trying this recipe. Not sure why, but that was a big mistake. This is the best gingerbread recipe I have tried to date. It's light in color, it puffs up nicely, and it stays soft even after it cools. Great recipe!!! Thanks, Michael.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love these cookies! They stay soft forever. The dough is easy to work with and has a beautiful color. Great christmas recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYKELLY5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wonderful! Super easy recipe. The dough has great texture and is fun to work with. I substituted shortening for the lard. I made the recipe in the morning while making breakfast for the kids and stuck it in the fridge until later that day. My kids LOVE these cookies because they aren't TOO spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the only gingerbread cookie recipe I will ever need again! If you want a nice soft, not-too-spicy gingerbread cookie, this is the one to try. Don't over-bake, though. Like the directions say, take them out when the centers look dry. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and let them cool on the cookie sheets about 5 minutes. This will help to avoid "headless gingerbread men" as they are very easy to handle when cool. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
very nice gingerbread cookie. I made the dough two days before we rolled them out, and it kept nicely in the fridge. The cookies are soft yet firm and have nice ginger flavor. Perfect for decorating, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
THis recipe was wonderful, it took a long itme to make, but it turned out the cutest little gingerbread men that I've ever seen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
this was great! downside: took very long time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These cookies were the BEST gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted!!! Soft, chewy, delightful, sweet! We will be making these again for Christmas Eve! :D Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This is a delicious gingerbread cookie recipe and so neat to have a recipe that's been a part of histoy. Am starting to make them again this year and sure this will be a standard cookie each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States