Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delicious! If you want an easy recipe for soft gingerbread cookies, look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe. I used honey instead of molasses, because i have honey bees. Turned out fantastic! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These took a while to make, but the end result was worth it. My only complaint is that they could be softer. I used shortening instead of lard. I will be using these in Christmas baskets as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I don't care for these much at all. My husband and kids, however, LOVE them. We visit Nauvoo often since we live close and they always have to stop at the historic bakery where they serve these. Unfortunately, when we remodeled our kitchen this summer the recipe was lost. Nice and easy to work with. I also bake on wax paper or silpat-too forgetful to ever buy parchment paper. lol Otherwise, it's next to impossible to get whole gingerbread off the pans. I also use Crisco instead of lard because I think lard's nasty. I like spicier cookies so I usually make 2 batches and double the spices in one. Last year we made ornaments out of them by adding a whole jar of cinnamon, cloves, and ginger from Dollar General. We poked holes in the tops before we baked them and the kids threaded them with ribbons. They still smell great this year. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I don't understand the raves about this recipe. While the texture and appearance are nice, the cookies are extremely bland - taste like bread. Not worth eating. I had to drastically revise the recipe to give the cookies any flavor - substitute half brown sugar, triple the cinnamon and ginger, plus add a generous amount of clove, cardamom and nutmeg. This gave more flavor. Even so, I will look elsewhere for a more flavorful recipe with more molasses and spice flavor and zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Nice crunchy cookie. I think I could have baked them less for a softer cookie, but they're great the way they turned out. Just added some simple frosting (powdered sugar and milk), yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BadGirlBaker87
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Best gingerbread Ive had, but I recommend cooling for several hours in the refrigerator, or even over night, I found the dough still a lil' sticky after only one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Delicious!! This recipe halves nicely, also. I got lots of compliments! I sprinkled white sugar on top just before putting them in the oven to add a little sweetness and decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is the only gingerbread cookie recipe I will ever need again! If you want a nice soft, not-too-spicy gingerbread cookie, this is the one to try. Don't over-bake, though. Like the directions say, take them out when the centers look dry. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and let them cool on the cookie sheets about 5 minutes. This will help to avoid "headless gingerbread men" as they are very easy to handle when cool. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe. Not sure why everyone complains of it taking a long time to make. I made up the dough while my son was in school and then we baked them together. Fun for kids to decorate. Most importantly... delicious cookies! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States