Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
i thought these turned out nicely. my preschool-age daughters had a great time helping roll out the dough, cutout the shapes, and decorate. the taste was agreeable with everyone in our family too. i did implement a couple of minor ingredient tweaks: substituted butter for lard, and only used 4 cups of flour. even after cutting down the flour, the dough was a bit too dry and crumbly. next time i may try 3 1/2 cups of flour instead (perhaps lard absorbs more flour than butter?). i may double the ginger next time as well, as i like my gingerbread a little more ginger-y. all-in-all, this recipe is a keeper. we'll be making these cookies a holiday tradition in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is my go-to gingerbread recipe. The dough is very easy to work with and it makes a LOT of cookies. They stay nice and soft even after they have cooled and keep well. You can also freeze the dough for future use. Don't be afraid to use lard; it is healthier than processed fats like Crisco. My only complaint with this recipe is it is not very ginger-y. I imagine spices were expensive and hard to obtain in the 19th century, hence the frugal amounts used. Since I love ginger, I use 2 tablespoons (one of dried ground ginger and one of freshly grated ginger). I also use 2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Everyone loves these cookies! They are not overly sweet and thus you can ice them w/out making them gaggingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have a question - i substituted lard with oil, and did everything, including refrigerate for 1hr (the max time i could afford)... however my dough was SOOOO sticky, we couldn't use cookie cutters at all, and it was a sticky mess!! however, the cookies tasted great. just wondering what happened...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Don't need another gingerbread cookies recipe anymore! Those are - Perfect, easy, budget friendly and very tasty as well. I didn't change a thing in this recipe and they turned out beautifully. Why to spend so much time and effort to try and try other gingerbread recipes if this one is THE ONE you'll ever like! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this is receiving one star only for the texture of the cookie. They tasted like cardboard! I even added extra spices (nutmeg and cloves) and extra ginger and cinnamon. The dough was easy to work with and they smelled amazing as i was rolling them out and cooking them but they had no taste. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My favorite gingerbread cookies. The dough freezes for later use really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were perfect! I made these for my dad for Christmas and shipped them across the US. When he got them he said they were still really fresh and soft. Iususally dont like the Gingerbread cookies but I LOVED these so did my hubby and son. This is a new family favorite, especailly at christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty much perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made a double batch of Gingerbread Cookies and used the recipe off the back of the Molassis container. They came out dark and the next day were really hard. I used this recipe to make the other 2 batches. Not only did it make more cookies but they turned out way better than the other ones! Best of all, it didn't require heating the molassis mixture on the stove. The only thing I changed was I used regular Crisco in place of the Lard. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
WOW a delicious tasting cookie! I used an electric mixer to blend the sugar, lard, molasses, eggs and water in very large bowl. I added the flour mixture 1 cup at a time to make mixing less messy and easier. I did judge doneness by looking at the center of the cookie. My kids loved these compared to the really crunchy, spicier cookies. My mom enjoyed them too and she's NEVER eaten my gingerbread before. They will make great gifts and a great tradition at Christmas - Thanks for posting this recipe they are amazing with hot cocoa or a little rum and eggnog!! nom, nom, nom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States