Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
THis recipe was wonderful, it took a long itme to make, but it turned out the cutest little gingerbread men that I've ever seen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This is a delicious gingerbread cookie recipe and so neat to have a recipe that's been a part of histoy. Am starting to make them again this year and sure this will be a standard cookie each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
this was great! downside: took very long time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This made nice looking cookies, but they had a strange aftertaste. Perhaps better for the tree than for eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I've put off trying this recipe. Not sure why, but that was a big mistake. This is the best gingerbread recipe I have tried to date. It's light in color, it puffs up nicely, and it stays soft even after it cools. Great recipe!!! Thanks, Michael.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Now ... I've never been a big fan of Gingerbread, as a general rule. I tolerated it! As taste goes, JUST because I'm me, I'd give these a "4" ... but to be fair, as Gingerbread goes these are the best I've ever tasted, and thus deserve a "5". Instead of Lard, I used Canola Oil. Did the trick! And I chose Fancy Molasses, as my other choice was Black Strap. Fancy is less bitter, thus I knew would give the cookies a better taste. They are not very "spiced" as some gingerbread ... may be why I like them (I usually find Gingerbread has to much spice for my liking). My daughter is mad for them. Trying to steal them before they;re even deocated. As far as shape goes ... they cut well, they cook well, firm outside, soft inside ... nice cookie! And they don't take forever to cool! Definite bonus for decorating purposes! ;) I forgot baking soda ... but they taste excellent anyway! And didn't rise much, which actually help them keep their shape better compared to other cookies I've made! I may always leave out the baking soda! I really liked how they turned out! Going to make a great Christmas cookie! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love these cookies! They stay soft forever. The dough is easy to work with and has a beautiful color. Great christmas recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYKELLY5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wonderful! Super easy recipe. The dough has great texture and is fun to work with. I substituted shortening for the lard. I made the recipe in the morning while making breakfast for the kids and stuck it in the fridge until later that day. My kids LOVE these cookies because they aren't TOO spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Thanks for the great recipie. My ancestors were in Nauvoo. It is neat to think that I am introducing something to my children that links us even closer to them. Especially when it is as yummy as these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
very nice gingerbread cookie. I made the dough two days before we rolled them out, and it kept nicely in the fridge. The cookies are soft yet firm and have nice ginger flavor. Perfect for decorating, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States