Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love these! So simple to make and yet so yummy! I made over 100 of these cookies for a kid's Christmas party so they could decorate their own gingerbread men and there weren't any left at the end of the night. These cookies will definitely become a holiday regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These cookies are great. My son loves gingerbread and begs for me to make them. I added allspice and nutmeg to the cookies for extra flavor. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I'm not a big fan of gingerbread cookies. I like soft cookies and gingerbread cookies seem like they're always hard. After reading all the reviews, I decided to make these. They were the softest, best gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted. Everyone loved them at our family holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These were perfect! Nice flavor, and very soft and chewy. If you wanted to use the recipe for a gingerbread house, or decorating the tree with the men, you'd want to cook the cookies a little longer to get them crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Loved these. So simple, great taste and puffed up nicely while still holding their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Super tasty cookies. I gave them out to friends for Christmas, then made them again for a Christmas party and they got snarfed down. I didn't think they were a lot of work. I didn't have any problems with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These cookies were the BEST gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted!!! Soft, chewy, delightful, sweet! We will be making these again for Christmas Eve! :D Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
very nice gingerbread cookie. I made the dough two days before we rolled them out, and it kept nicely in the fridge. The cookies are soft yet firm and have nice ginger flavor. Perfect for decorating, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Thanks for the great recipie. My ancestors were in Nauvoo. It is neat to think that I am introducing something to my children that links us even closer to them. Especially when it is as yummy as these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wonderful! Super easy recipe. The dough has great texture and is fun to work with. I substituted shortening for the lard. I made the recipe in the morning while making breakfast for the kids and stuck it in the fridge until later that day. My kids LOVE these cookies because they aren't TOO spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States